North Carolina AHEC Program
spring 2010 newsletter | home

NC AHEC Awards Mayer and Payne Fellowships

On March 5, the NC AHEC Program announced the 2010 Eugene S. Mayer Traveling Fellow and the 2010 John Payne Fellows.

Amina Ahmed, MDCharlotte AHEC's Amina Ahmed, MD, (right) was selected as the 2010 Mayer Traveling Fellow. Ahmed practices in the Division of Infectious Disease at the Levine Children’s Hospital at Carolinas HealthCare System. She will study the policies and programs related to the prevention and treatment of tuberculosis in the UK and apply her findings to her work in North Carolina.

The 2010 Payne Fellows are: Diana K. Bond, PhD (c), RN, BC; Sandie M. Coleman, MAEd; and Dawn Grant, MPH. Bond is director of Quality and Continuing Medical Education and Coleman is associate director of Continuing Medical Education at Wake AHEC. Grant is director of Allied Health, Public Health, Dental Health, Pharmacy Education, Health Careers & Workforce Diversity at Eastern AHEC.

Bond and Coleman will study the CME process at two sites in the Houston area that have been particularly successful in developing exemplary CME systems in the new environment for professional development for physicians. Lessons learned will be applied to their work at Wake AHEC and also inform AHEC efforts statewide to a more quality-focused CME that takes better advantage of technology and other new systems of educational delivery.

Grant will attend the World Conference on Quality and Improvement in St. Louis in May 2010. She will utilize the knowledge gained from the conference to incorporate quality issues and quality measurements in a broad array of educational activities conducted by Eastern AHEC and by AHEC statewide.

Editor's Note: In 1976, John Lister, MD, of the United Kingdom and Christopher Fordham, MD, of the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Medicine created the Wyeth Traveling Fellowship—an exchange program whereby AHEC-based faculty from North Carolina spent a month studying aspects of the British medical education and health services delivery system. In return, NC AHEC hosted fellows selected by the National Association of Clinical Tutors (NACT) from the UK. In 1996, the American portion of the exchange became known as the Eugene S. Mayer Fellowship thanks to contributions made in memory of the longtime NC AHEC director.

The purpose of the John Payne Fellowship is to honor the memory of John Payne and the contributions he made for nearly 25 years to the North Carolina AHEC Program. The Fellowship will enable non-medical faculty to further their professional interests and explore innovative educational efforts. As such, the Fellowship not only memorializes John's leadership of AHEC, but also his lifelong commitment to community-based education, his love of travel, and his interest in exploring new ideas.