North Carolina AHEC Program
spring 2011 newsletter | home

Family Medicine Center at Southern Regional AHEC Recognized

The Family Medicine Center at Southern Regional AHEC has achieved recognition from the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) as a Patient-Centered Medical Home. This national recognition is reserved for physician practices that function as a medical home by using team-based systematic, patient-centered and coordinated care management processes. Currently, this recognition has been achieved by less than five percent of all practices in the country.

What exactly is a Patient-Centered Medical Home? According the NCQA Web site, it is a health care setting that facilitates partnerships between individual patients and their personal physicians, and when appropriate, the patient’s family. Care is facilitated by registries, information technology, health information exchange and other means to assure that patients get the indicated care when and where they need and want it in a culturally and linguistically appropriate manner.

All members of the clinical staff at The Family Medicine Center worked towards this recognition, reports Southern Regional AHEC President and CEO Deborah Teasley. “Congratulations to everyone in The Family Medicine Center for this impressive achievement,” she said in a statement to employees. “This recognition is a significant accomplishment for The Family Medicine Center patients and the quality of care delivered.”

It was Clinical Technology Coordinator Phil Anderson, MD, who organized the effort by creating reports based on Electronic Medical Records (EMR) and completed the application. Practice Manager Carl Keiper and Business Manager Jennifer Powell, along with the Assistant Director of Osteopathic Medicine Education John Hall, DO, and interim Family Medicine Residency Director Samuel Warburton, MD, worked on policies and procedures, carrying out numerous tasks to document the care delivered and provided project management and direction. Other members of the patient care team who helped attain the recognition are Lenny Salzberg, MD, Kim Lewis, PharmD, and medical librarians Becky Johnston and Lisa Kilburn, who provided extensive patient education and held diabetic patient group visits over the past year.