North Carolina AHEC Program
summer 2011 newsletter | home

NC AHEC Hosts 13th Medical Faculty Day

On May 26, 2011, participants from around the state gathered at The William and Ida Friday Center for Continuing Education in Chapel Hill for the 13th annual AHEC Medical Faculty Day.

A full day of presentations began with early morning group meetings and a breakout session about Quality Initiatives and the Health Information Technology Regional Extension Center. Opening remarks to all Faculty Day attendees were given by NC AHEC Director Thomas J. Bacon, DrPH, and William L. Roper, MD, MPH, dean of the UNC School of Medicine and Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs and CEO of UNC Health Care System.

Joel Lanphear, PhDThis year’s keynote speaker told the unique story of a newly established school of medicine for the whole of Northern Ontario, Canada. “Toward Socially Accountable Physicians and Programs: The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) Story” was presented by Joel Lanphear, PhD, (photo right) senior associate dean of west campus, associate dean for undergraduate medical education, and professor of medical education at NOSM.

NOSM is a joint initiative of Lakehead University and Laurentian University with main campuses in Thunder Bay and Sudbury, and multiple teaching and research sites distributed across Northern Ontario. When the School welcomed its first students in September 2005, it became the first new medical school in Canada in over 30 years, and only the second new medical school in North America during a similar period.

It is the first Canadian medical school hosted by two universities, some 746 miles apart. In addition, NOSM is the only Canadian medical school to be established as a stand-alone, not-for-profit corporation, with its own Board of Directors and corporate by-laws. NOSM is also the first Canadian medical school established with a social accountability mandate. From its community-based Board of Directors to its extensive reliance on Northern communities to act as hosts for its students, NOSM is committed to engaging Northerners in the education process. By the time the MD program is completed, the average NOSM student will have spent nearly forty percent of his or her time studying in Aboriginal, small rural and larger urban Northern Ontario communities.

Warren P. Newton, MD, MPH, vice dean for education, UNC School of Medicine, and William B. Aycock Distinguished Professor and chair, Department of Family Medicine, gave an update on UNC’s accreditation study for the LCME (Liaison Committee on Medical Education) and other medical education issues. A student self study for the LCME process was then presented by Sally Wood and Russell Coletti, LCME student steering committee co-chairs.

For the last event of the morning, George T. Wolff, MD, was given the Glenn Wilson Award for Public Service. Wolff graduated from Jefferson Medical College in 1952. After a three year self-designed postgraduate program, he entered practice in Greensboro. He directed the Moses Cone Family Practice Residency program from 1975 to 1983. After retiring from private practice in 1995, Wolff joined the program on a part-time basis. He was North Carolina Family Doctor of the year in 1985, received the American Academy of Family Physicians Award of Merit in 1984 and the UNC School of Medicine Alumni Service Award in 1995. Wolff and his wife were on hand to receive to the award.

Department meetings for family medicine, ob/gyn, pediatrics, psychiatry, surgery, and internal medicine took place during the afternoon.

Throughout the day, Dale Krams, technology resource manager, and Chris Jenkins, one45 project support liaison, were on hand to answer questions about one45. One45 is a web-based system used for managing clerkship and clinical rotation schedules, automated assessments and evaluations, patient logging and grade tracking. One45 is also used to deliver and collect evaluation forms for preclinical courses.