North Carolina AHEC Program
summer 2011 newsletter | home

Statewide AHEC Meeting Navigates a “Sea of Change”

Statewide AHEC meeting group

From April 4-6, 2011, more than 250 AHEC staff from across the state gathered in Wrightsville Beach for the NC AHEC Statewide Meeting. Hosted by SEAHEC, the meeting had the theme of “Sea of Change: Implementing Reform Through Innovation” and featured the Eugene S. Mayer, MD Lecture, three plenary sessions and 14 concurrent sessions. Note: The linked session names that follow in this article take you to video recordings of each presentation.

Marc Nivet, EdDThe three-day meeting kicked off with a welcome from SEAHEC President and CEO Mark Darrow, MD, FACP. After an update on the “State of the AHEC” by NC AHEC Director Tom Bacon, DrPH, Thomas C. Ricketts, PhD, MPH, gave the Eugene S. Mayer, MD Lecture on "Health Care Reform and Workforce Implications."

Tuesday morning’s plenary session focused on “Diversity as a Vital Component of Health Systems Innovation” by Marc Nivet, EdD (photo right). In his role as chief diversity officer for the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), Nivet provides strategic vision for all AAMC diversity and inclusion activities.

The afternoon plenary session featured Tom Morris, PhD, director of the Morris Institute for Human Values. A native of Durham, Morris graduated as a Morehead Scholar at UNC-Chapel Hill and spoke to AHEC staff about “Leadership and Success with Limited Resources.”

Ruth Petersen, MD, MPH, NC Department of Health & Human Services, was Wednesday’s plenary session speaker. Petersen gave a report on "Healthy North Carolina 2020: A Better State of Health" and invited attendees to become involved in helping to disseminate the results and acting on the report.

At a presentation during lunch on Tuesday, George T. Wolff, MD, was announced as the recipient of the Glenn Wilson Award for Public Service. Wolff graduated from Jefferson Medical College in 1952. After a three year self-designed postgraduate program, he entered practice in Greensboro. He directed the Moses Cone Family Practice Residency program from 1975 to 1983. After retiring from private practice in 1995, Wolff joined the program on a part-time basis. He was North Carolina Family Doctor of the year in 1985, received the American Academy of Family Physicians Award of Merit in 1984 and the UNC School of Medicine Alumni Service Award in 1995.

Northwest AHEC Director Michael P. Lischke, EdD, MPH, recognized all past winners of the Tangee Christie Hawks Award. The award, given annually to a dedicated administrative staff member of a regional AHEC, was initiated in 2001 in memory of Hawks, who served on the Northwest AHEC staff from 1986-2001. Criteria for the award includes dedication and service toward the AHEC mission and a positive approach to work and home life.

Statewide Registration

Jim Shaw (right) shares a laugh with Mark Darrow, MD, FACP, (left) at the meeting registration desk.