North Carolina AHEC Program
winter 2012 newsletter | home

Duke Psychiatry Faculty Selected for Award

Jeffrey Swanson, PhD, and Marvin Swartz, MD, have been selected as joint recipients of the 2011 Carl Taube Award, an honor given by the Mental Health Section of the American Public Health Association (APHA). The prestigious award is presented to scholars who have made significant career contributions in the field of mental health research and treatment. On November 1, 2011, Swanson and Swartz received the award at the annual APHA meeting in Washington, DC.

Swanson is a medical sociologist and professor in the Division of Social and Community Psychiatry. He is an expert in psychiatric epidemiology, mental health services effectiveness research, and mental health law and policy studies.

Swartz is professor and vice chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, director of the Duke Area Health Education Center Program and director of the National Resource Center on Psychiatric Advance Directives.

Swanson and Swartz have collaborated for two decades on research studies of mental health services for persons with severe mental illness and have written extensively on violence, involuntary outpatient commitment, mandated community treatment, psychiatric advance directives, and effectiveness of antipsychotic medications.