Baranek and Womack Honored at AOTA Convention

Grace Baranek received the A. Jean Ayres Award and Jenny Womack became a Fellow of the American Occupational Therapy Association (FAOTA) at the Annual AOTA Conference in Indianapolis in April.

Baranek and Womack Honored at AOTA Convention click to enlarge Jenny Womack and Grace Baranek at the AOTA Conference in April.

The Ayers Award recognizes occupational therapy clinicians, educators, and researchers who have demonstrated sustained commitment to the application, development, or testing of theory in occupational therapy.  The award is given in honor of A. Jean Ayres, PhD, OTR, whose concentration on developing theory in support of practice was of great significance to the profession of occupational therapy.  Grace Baranek, PhD, OTR/L, is a professor in the UNC Division of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy and serves as the Associate Chair for Research for the Department of Allied Health Sciences and the coordinator of autism research programs.

The FAOTA designation is awarded to occupational therapist members of AOTA who have used their knowledge and expertise to make significant contributions to the continuing education and professional development of members of the Association.  Jennifer (Jenny) Womack, MS, MA, OTR/L, SCDCM, is an associate professor in the OS/OT division and the MSOT Admissions Coordinator.