UNC DPT Student Receives Mary McMillan Scholarship Award from APTA

Leigh Anne McLaughlin, a third-year UNC Doctor of Physical Therapy student from Fayetteville, NC, has been selected to receive the Mary McMillan Scholarship Award from the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA). The intent of the award is to recognize students who exhibit superior scholastic ability and potential for future professional contribution.

UNC DPT Student Receives Mary McMillan Scholarship Award from APTA click to enlarge Leigh Anne McLaughlin (DPT '12)

Recipients are selected on the basis of the following criteria: superior scholastic performance, past productivity, evidence of potential contribution to physical therapy and service to the American Physical Therapy Association.  The award includes a $5,000 scholarship and a certificate that will be presented by APTA's Board of Directors at the association's annual conference. An official announcement of the award will also appear in an association publication.

UNC Physical Therapy had previously recognized McLaughlin’s excellence and potential by selecting her to receive the 2010-11 Charlotte Money Beatty Memorial Scholarship, the 2010-11 Judy White Professional Development Award, and the 2011-12 James and Evelyn Fowler Physical Therapy Loyalty Fund Annual Scholarship.

McLaughlin is currently leading the student efforts to raise funds for the 2012 UNC PT Outreach trip to Guatemala.