Rosenberg Selected for MS Society Health Professionals Hall of Fame

UNC Physical Therapy faculty member and Carolina alumna Angela Rosenberg, PT, DPH, has been selected for the National Multiple Sclerosis Society’s 2012 Health Professionals Hall of Fame. Dr. Rosenberg was recognized for being the driving force behind the creation of an innovative MS focused education track and scholarship program for physical therapists.

Rosenberg Selected for MS Society Health Professionals Hall of Fame click to enlarge Angela Rosenberg, PT, DPH

Each year, MS Society chapters nominate volunteers to receive national recognition for their outstanding service. Detailed nomination forms are submitted for each candidate and reviewed by panels from around the country. Rosenberg will be honored along with the other Hall of Famers at the National MS Conference in Dallas in November.

“Our chapter nominated Angela because of her dedication and hard work on the UNC Division of Physical Therapy/National MS Society collaboration,” said Kaye Gooch, Executive Vice President for Programs, Services, and Volunteers for the National MS Society, Greater Carolinas Chapter. “We are so excited that she has won this award because of her numerous volunteer hours and work to improve the quality of life for people living with MS.”

Rosenberg realized the paucity of physical therapists trained in the treatment of MS after her own MS diagnosis several years ago in the prime of her career as a faculty member and leadership consultant. She encouraged the Greater Carolinas Chapter of the National MS Society to team with UNC Physical Therapy to develop this groundbreaking scholarship and education program, now designated as the MS Standardized Training and Education Program with University Partners (MS STEP UP: UNC PT). Since the program’s inception in 2008, six DPT (Doctor of Physical Therapy) students have graduated after completing the curriculum, and four more are currently enrolled.

Click here for more information about the National MS Society Hall of Fame recognition. Visit for more information about the scholarship program.