Faculty/Staff Directory

Jackson Roush, PhD, Director
Division of Speech and Hearing Sciences
Biography (919) 966-9467 jroush@med.unc.edu

Faculty (listed alphabetically)

Elizabeth Crais, PhD, Professor (Speech-Language Pathology). Coordinator of PhD studies. Research interests: communication development and disorders in infants, toddlers, and preschoolers; gesture development in children with typical and atypical skills; working with families and teams in early intervention. Biography (919) 966-9458 bcrais@med.unc.edu

Lisa Domby, MS, Associate Professor (Speech-Language Pathology). Clinical and professional interests: Global English; bilingual speech and language disorders; functional goals and outcomes; quality of life measures. Biography (919) 966-0104 lisa_domby@med.unc.edu

Andrea Hillock Dunn, AuD, PhD. Clinical Assistant Professor. Educational audiology consultant at the Department of Public Instruction. Clinical and research interests: Educational audiology; pediatric audiology; newborn hearing sciences; audiovisual speech perception andrea_dunn@med.unc.edu

Karen Erickson, PhD, Professor, Director, Center for Literacy & Disability Studies. Research interests: assessment of reading and writing; literacy instruction; augmentative and alternative communication. Biography (919) 966-8828 karen_erickson@med.unc.edu

Philip Griffin, AuD, Clinical Assistant Professor. Clinical interests: Balance assessment and treatment, adult hearing loss and management. philip_griffin@med.unc.edu

John Grose, PhD, Professor (Audiology); Professor (Otolaryngology; Psychophysics & Electrophysiology Auditory Research Laboratory) (Psychoacoustics Laboratory) UNC School of Medicine. Research interests: audiology and psychoacoustics; auditory electrophysiology. Biography (919) 966-9777 jhg@med.unc.edu

Katarina Haley, PhD, Associate Professor (Speech-Language Pathology). Research interests: speech perception and production, adult neurogenic communication disorders. Biography (919) 445-0341 khaley@med.unc.edu

Melody Harrison, PhD, Professor (Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology), Coordinator of Master's Studies. Research interests: assessment of speech, language, and literacy development in infants, toddlers and children with hearing loss. Biography (919) 966-9459 melody_harrison@med.unc.edu

William HooleAuD, Clinical Assistant Professor (Audiology), Coordinator of Clinical Education. Research/Clinical interests: traditional and implantable hearing technology, professional ethics & industry involvement in clinical education, mitigating socioeconomic barriers for accessing amplification. Biography (919) 445-0339

Adam Jacks, PhD, Associate Professor (Speech-Language Pathology). Research interests: neural substrates of speech, neuromotor speech disorders, speech acoustics; quality of life outcomes in aphasia. Biography (919) 966-9464 adam_jacks@med.unc.edu

Patricia Johnson, AuD, Clinical Assistant Professor (Audiology). Clinical interests: adult diagnostics and aural rehabilitation, hearing and assistive technology, aging and communication, community outreach. Biography (919) 493-7980 patricia_johnson@med.unc.edu

Cara McComish, PhD, Clinical Assistant Professor (Speech-Language Pathology). Research interests: communication and feeding skills development in infants and toddlers; early identification of children with autism. Biography (919) 966-8153

Nancy McKenna, AuD, Clinial Associate Professor (Audiology and Hearing Science). Research interests: audition in aging; hearing loss prevention; tinnitus and genetics of aging. Biography (919) 966-9468 nancy_mckenna@med.unc.edu

Brenda Mitchell, PhD, Clinical Associate Professor (Speech-Language Pathology), Associate Chair for Student Services and AHEC. Research interests: IPE and communication disorders; multi-cultural issues; community re-entry and student mentoring. Biography (919) 966-9038 Brenda_Mitchell@med.unc.edu

Martha Mundy, AuD, Clinical Associate Professor (Audiology), Coordinator AuD Studies. Research interests: educational audiology, pediatric audiology. Biography (919) 966-9457 mmundy@med.unc.edu

Jackson Roush, PhD, Professor (Audiology), Director of the Division of Speech and Hearing Sciences. Research interests: pediatric audiology; acoustic immittance measures; infant hearing screening; early intervention; syndromes that affect hearing. Biography (919) 966-9467 jroush@med.unc.edu

Stephanie Sjoblad, AuD, Clinical Professor, Clinical Coordinator for Audiology, Division of Speech and Hearing Sciences. Clinical interests: aural rehabilitation; hearing instrument technologies; professional issues and practice management. Biography (919) 493-7980 ssjoblad@med.unc.edu

Linda Watson, EdD, Professor (Speech-Language Pathology). Research interests: early development and identification of infants & toddlers at risk for autism; predictors of language outcomes in children with autism; early intervention in autism; language disorders in preschool children. Biography (919) 966-9466 Linda_Watson@med.unc.edu

Sharon Wallace Williams, PhD, CCC-A Associate Professor (Audiology).Research interests:minority aging, family functioning and processes in caregiving families, and end of life communication within families and with health care providers. Biography (919) 966-9462

Teaching Faculty

Emily Buss, PhD, Professor, Department of Otolarygology. Biography (919) 966-8926 ebuss@med.unc.edu

Gerri Chadwick, AuD, Program Manager and Scientific Grant Writer, Carolinas Healthcare System. Research interests: Intra operative monitoring. Gerri.Chadwick@carolinashealthcare.org

Margaret Dillon, AuD, Research Assistant Professor (Otolaryngology). Research interests: Cochlear implantation, hearing preservation, middle ear implantation, signal processing outcomes. (984) 974-6484 mdillon@med.unc.edu

Hannah R. Eskridge, MA, CCC-SLP, Children’s Cochlear Implant Center, Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery, UNC Healthcare. (919) 419-1428 Hannah.Eskridge@unchealthcare.unc.edu

Doug Fitzpatrick, PhD, Assistant Professor (Otolaryngology). Research Interests: Neuronal basis of sound localization performance. dcf@med.unc.edu

Lynn M. Fox, MA, CCC-SLP, Department of Dental Ecology, UNC School of Dentistry. (919) 537-3509

Penny Hatch, PhD, CCC-SLP, Clinical Assistant Professor, Center for Literacy and Disability Studies, UNC School of Medicine. Research Interests: Language; literacy; augmentative and alternative communication. 919 843-2524

Leslie W. Johnson, PhD, CCC-SLP, Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery, UNC Health Care. (984) 974-8872

Nancy Jones, AuD, Chief of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, Veterans Administration Medical Center, Durham, NC.

Brian Kanapkey, MA, CCC-SLP, Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery, UNC Health Healthcare. (984) 974-6484

Jessica R. Dykstra Steinbrenner, PhD, CCC-SLP, Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute. (919) 962-3982 jessica.dykstra@unc.edu

Holly Teagle, AuD, Clinical Associate Professor, Carolina Children’s Communicative Disorders Program, UNC. Dept. of Otolaryngology: (919) 419-1449 holly_teagle@med.unc.edu

Gina R. Vess, MA, CCC-SLP, Duke Voice Care Center, Duke University School of Medicine. (919) 684-1556

Debra Reinhartsen, PhD(Clinical Center for the Study of Development and Learning). Adjunct Associate Professor, Speech-Language PathologyResearch Interests: autism, low incidence disabilities, augmentative communication, clinical supervision. Biography Work (919) 966-4138 Fax (919) 966-2230 debbie.reinhartsen@cdl.unc.edu

David J. Zajac, PhD (Craniofacial Center, School of Dentistry) Associate Professor, Research Interests: speech Aerodynamics, Developmental Aspects of Speech Production, Cleft Palate Speech, Behavioral Management of Cleft Palate Speech. Biography (919) 966-1362 david_zajac@med.unc.edu

Staff

Ina Diana - Administrative Specialist Biography (919) 966-1007 idiana@med.unc.edu

Gabrielle Jones - Student Services Specialist Biography (919) 966-2343

Adam Shirey - Business Services Coordinator  (919) 966-9463

Emeritus Faculty

Lee McLean, PhD, early intervention and child language research. Research interests: communication development and intervention in individuals with severe-profound disabilities; early intervention and child language research. Biography (919) 966-9041 lee_mclean@med.unc.edu

David E. Yoder, PhD, (Speech-Language Pathology); Emeritus, Center for Literacy and Disability Studies; Executive Director Emeritus, Council for Allied Health in N.C. Biography (919) 843-6176 dyoder@med.unc.edu and