Radiologic Science Scholarships and Awards



Buddy Clark Loyalty Fund Radiologic Science Scholarship
Dr. Ernest Spangler and his wife, Jean, have endowed the Buddy Clark Scholarship through the Medical Foundation’s Loyalty Fund. Dr. Spangler decided to create the scholarship to honor the important role that Mr. Buddy Clark and other radiological technologists played in his career and in improved patient care.

Dr. Jerry Lambiente Radiologic Science Loyalty Fund Annual Scholarship
The Lambiente Annual Scholarship was established through the generosity of Robert and Lauren Noble (’89). Dr. Jerry Lambiente (Retired Colonel, United States Army) was born in Brooklyn on September 27, 1912, and died on February 12, 1999. He was married to the late Jean Reavis Lambiente. Dr. Lambiente attended New York Military Academy in Cornwall-on-Hudson, NY, and then went on to attend the University of Notre Dame. After completion of his undergraduate degree, he attended Creighton University Dental School in Omaha, Nebraska, and shortly thereafter enlisted in the United States Army. Dr. Lambiente served in World War II and the Korean War and retired in 1971 after 31 years of distinguished military service. Dr. Lambiente possessed an appreciation for education and a desire to share with others. As a result, his philanthropic activities included numerous monetary and historical artifact contributions to the University of Notre Dame and the University of Nebraska.

Joseph Taylor Radiology Student Assistance Fund
Joseph Taylor’s professional career spanned over 50 years in radiology and centered on promoting and advancing the profession. The Joseph Taylor Radiology Student Assistance Fund financially assists students, specifically those in the university-based radiologic technology certificate program. The Taylor award will be given each year to a student who displays a passion for the field of radiology and a commitment to helping patients in need. The fund will help students who may not otherwise have the means to afford required educational materials.

Tina D. Robbins Memorial Award
The Tina D. Robbins Award is given to a graduating student who has demonstrated high ethical standards and a genuine concern for his/her patients and fellow man.

The Phyllis Ann Canup Pepper Radiologic Science Scholarships
This fund was established as a tribute to Phyllis Ann Canup Pepper’s lifetime and career in radiologic technology. She was born in Carbarrus County, a daughter of Blanche Bebber Canup and John Lewis Canup. Following graduation from A. L. Brown High School, she became one of the earliest radiologic technologists to graduate from UNC, completing her training in 1955. She joined the Department of Radiology at the University of North Carolina Hospitals after graduation and later served as chief technologist until 1962. She then went to Charlotte to become the Chief Technologist at Presbyterian Hospital. She remained at Presbyterian Hospital until her marriage in 1969. This Fund was established by her husband, Francis D. Pepper, Jr., M.D., a 1956 graduate of the UNC School of Medicine. Funds earned by this endowment are distributed into equal parts. The Fund provides support for students through the Scholarship Awards and for the Radiologic Science Program through the Advancement Fund.