Make a Gift

Dear Alumni and Friends,

Stephen R. Hooper, PhD
The Department of Allied Health Sciences depends on private financial support to advance our mission to improve the quality and accessibility of health care for the people of North Carolina and the world. At the heart of the Department’s success in producing the nation’s leading allied health professionals for over 40 years is a set of key program values that guide faculty, students, and alumni:
  • Exemplary Teaching: To produce excellent health care practitioners and researchers who are prepared to provide leadership to their disciplines and their future work settings Innovative
  • Research: To conduct research and generate new knowledge that will inform future practice and policy in allied health disciplines
  • Patient-Centered Clinical Practice: To advance the art and science of clinical practice with a focus on patient outcomes and quality of life.

The financial support of our donors continues to help us meet the increasing needs of our students who are not fully state supported and to address our key program values with vigor, integrity, and an outstanding level of quality on the part of our students, faculty, and staff. We greatly appreciate the ongoing generosity of our donors in advancing the overall mission of the Department of Allied Health Sciences at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine.


Stephen R. Hooper, PhD
Professor, Associate Dean and Chair
Department of Allied Health Sciences

Private Investment at Work

The Department of Allied Health Sciences depends on contributions from generous individuals, private organizations, and foundations to support the work of its dedicated faculty. Private contributions are already making a big difference:

The David E. and Dolores J. (Dee) Yoder Distinguished Professorship

The Yoder Professorship has been established through the generosity of Maynard and Carolyn Sauder of Archbold, Ohio. The endowment stands as a perpetual tribute to the dedicated professionalism and skilled teaching and research of David E. Yoder, PhD, and the lifetime support of his spouse, Dee.

David and Dee Yoder and
Carolyn and Maynard Sauder (seated).

Louise M. Ward Scholarships and Teaching Excellence Fund for Clinical Laboratory Science

A bequest from the estate of Louise M. Ward, a former director of the UNC-Chapel Hill Division of Clinical Laboratory Science, has provided funds to assist and reward students at UNC studying to become clinical laboratory scientists.  The CLS faculty select three Louise Ward Scholars each year.


The 2009 Ward Scholars (left to right):
Meka Asbury, Erin Thompson, and Julie Ivey.

Rebecca Irene Sande Scholarship Fund for Physical Therapy

A $757,000 bequest from the estate of L'Vir Sande of Salisbury established the Rebecca Irene Sande Scholarship Fund in Physical Therapy at UNC-Chapel Hill in 2002, allowing the division to offer 10 scholarships annually to prospective students.

The 2009 Sande Scholars:
John Sizemore, Aisha Jones, James Hoffman, Estelle Tsalik, Bevin Mraw, Sheri Hazelbaker, Monica Murrell, and Steven Essa.