Professorships and Special Programs


The Medical Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professorships are intended to honor mid-career faculty with a track record of substantial leadership in teaching medical students as well as educational innovation.  The goal is to help the Professors serve as agents of change within the School of Medicine and ambassadors for the School of Medicine, underscoring our commitment to national leadership and innovation in medical education.

An endowment funded through the allocation of annual gifts to the Loyalty Fund over the years has funded these professorships.  The first Medical Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professorship was awarded in 1999.  Currently six faculty members hold these prestigious positions, each for a four-year period.


Special Programs

The Loyalty Fund supports those activities that enable medical students to connect with and serve our local and global communities. Student involvement with such programs enhances the Carolina experience, providing opportunities to learn and grow outside the classroom. Examples of programs supported by annual contributions to the Loyalty Fund include: American Medical Student Association, Student Health Action Coalition (SHAC), Zollicoffer-Merrimon Lecture, Honduran Health Alliance, Orientation and Graduation Activities, White Coat Ceremony, Teaching Tolerance and more.


Some medical alumni have created or supported specific areas such as lectureships and international fellowships. If you are interested in creating such an opportunity, please contact Emily Stevens at (800) 962-2543, (919) 966-0019 or