Search results

175 items matching your search terms.
Filter the results.
Item type

New items since

Sort by relevance · date (newest first) · alphabetically
Alumni Research Day is Thursday, May 16th
The Department is featuring a full day of events including invited alumni talks by distinguished researchers, Dr. Lee Limbird (Dean of School of Natural Sciences at Fisk University) and Dr. Sylvie Doublie (Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Biology at University of Vermont), talks by our current students, a poster session, and a panel discussion by alumni on career paths and more. Learn more and join us!
Located in News
ASBMB Today highlights Henrik Dohlman as a new JBC associate editor
Learn more about Henrik Dohlman, professor and vice chair of biochemistry and biophysics, from his profile highlight in ASBMB Today's December 2013 issue.
Located in News
Grad Student Beezly Groh receives her PhD!
Beezly successfully defended her dissertation and received her PhD on November 8, 2013.
Located in News
Bergmeier receives Established Investigator Award from AHA
Congratulations to Dr. Wolfgang Bergmeier, Associate Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics for receiving an Established Investigator Award from the American Heart Association for research on "The Platelet Signaling in Inflammation and Autoimmunity".
Located in News
Bergmeier receives the BACH Investigator Recognition Award from ISTH
Dr. Wolfgang Bergmeier is the recipient of the Investigator Recognition Award at the 16th Biennial Awards for Contributions to Haemostasis (BACH) from the International Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis (ISTH).
Located in News
Cell death mystery yields new suspect for cancer drug development
Sept 13, 2013 - Discovery by UNC researchers in the Parise lab uncover a prime suspect for new cancer drug development. The team’s findings were published in the journal Oncogene.
Located in News
Chemical tags likely to affect metabolism, cancer development
New research in the lab of Dr. Yue Xiong, Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics, suggest that the addition or removal of a certain type of chemical tag - called an acetyl group - onto metabolic enzymes plays a key role in how cellular metabolism is regulated.
Located in News
Clumps of red and white blood cells may contribute to sickle cell disease
Research in the Dept. of Biochemistry and Biophysics at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, by Dr. Julia Brittain, Research Assitant Professor and Dr. Leslie Parise, Professor and Chair have shown that blood from sickle cell patients also contains clumps, or aggregates, of red and white blood cells that may contribute to the blockages.
Located in News
Conquering Chromatin
Congratulations to Greg Wang, Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics, who was awarded a Jefferson Pilot Fellowship from UNC School of Medicine to further his research mission searching for better ways to shut down cancer cells.
Located in News
Cook named Associate Dean for Graduate Education
Congratulations to Dr. Jeanette Cook, Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics who assumed her new administrative role on Sept. 15, 2013.
Located in News