2011 RESEARCH RETREAT


TUESDAY, APRIL 26, 2011 at the UNC KENAN CENTER

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS: (click here for more details on the event site, parking)


8:30 AM
Check-IN Begins (Kenan 1st floor lobby)

8:45 – 9:30 AM
Continental Breakfast (Kenan 2nd Floor Lounge)

9:30 – 9:40 AM
Chair’s Welcome (Kenan Room 204)

Session One - Kenan Room 204 (moderators: Elizabeth Pollom & Bryan Der)

9:40 – 9:55 AM
Candice Carlile, PhD
(Jean Cook lab)
"
Transcription Alters Chromatin to Inhibit Replication Initiation"

9:55 – 10:10 AM
Rachael Baker (Henrik Dohlman  & Sharon Campbell labs)
"Monoubiquitination of Ras In Vitro Alters Regulator-Mediated Activity"

10:10 – 10:25 AM
Justin Low (Kevin Weeks lab)
"SHAPE-Directed Identification of Potent shRNA Inhibitors of HIV-1"

10:25 – 10:40 AM
Feng Ding, PhD (Nikolay Dokholyan lab)
"Multiscale modeling of RNA folding"

10:40 – 11:00 AM
BREAK (refreshments on 2nd floor lounge)

Session Two - Kenan Room 204 (moderators: Ashley Rivenbark & Aaron Hobbs)

11:00 – 11:15 AM
Grant Murphy (Brian Kuhlman lab)
"Complete Redesign of a Protein Hydrophobic Core"

11:15 – 11:30 AM
Anh Nguyen (Yi Zhang lab)
"DOT1L Regulates Dystrophin Expression and is Critical for Cardiac Function"

11:30 – 11:45 AM
Michael Kemp, PhD (Aziz Sancar lab)
"The DNA Damage Response Kinases DNA-PK and ATM are Stimulated by bulky adduct-containing DNA"

11:45 – 12:00 PM
Keith Miller (Edward Collins lab)
"Stealing from the Immune System: Identifying and Killing Cancer"

12:00 – 1:00 PM
LUNCH (Kenan Dining Room)

Session Three - Kenan Room 204 (moderators: Laura Lindsey-Boltz & Jaime Campbell)

1:00 – 1:15 PM
Gokhan Tolun, PhD (Jack Griffith lab)
"Single-particle reconstruction of an ICP8-ssDNA binary complex structure"

1:15 – 1:30 PM
Shen Shen (Aravind Asokan lab)
"Terminal N-Linked Galactose is the Primary Receptor for Adeno-Associated Virus Serotype 9 (AAV9)"

1:30 – 1:45 PM
Natasha Strande (Dale Ramsden lab)
"Questioning Ku's Character as a Lyase: Persnickety or Promiscuous?"

1:45 – 2:00 PM
Student Recognition & Award Presentation
presented by: Brian Strahl - Director of Graduate Studies

2:00 – 2:20 PM
BREAK (refreshments on 2nd floor lounge)

Keynote Talk – Kenan Room 204


Bill Degrado
2:25 – 3:25 PM
William DeGrado, PhD - George W. Raiziss Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics
"De Novo Protein Design"
(introduced by: Brian Kuhlman, PhD)

Poster Session – Kenan Dining Room

3:30 – 5:30 PM
Posters & Social (even numbered posters will present in the first hour; odd numbered posters will present in the second hour)

POSTERS & SET-UP: Posters are 40 inches tall and 60 inches wide. They MUST be delivered to Kenan Room 206 by 12:00 PM on the day of the retreat.  At the registration/check-in station, all poster presenters will be provided a label (which includes their name, poster #, and presentation time) that they will need to affix/attach to their poster before storing in Kenan 206.  From 2:00-3:15pm, retreat staff will set up poster easels and boards and tack up all posters, giving presenters the opportunity to attend the keynote talk.


The Retreat Committee,
Dale Ramsden (chair) - dale_ramsden@med.unc.edu
Brenda Brock - brenda_brock@med.unc.edu
Amanda Chang - ahc@med.unc.edu
Sarah Clement - sclement@unc.edu
Jean Cook - jean_cook@med.unc.edu
Brian Kuhlman - bkuhlman@email.unc.edu
Lisa Phillippie - ldh@med.unc.edu
Lynn Ray - marsha_ray@med.unc.edu
Ashley Rivenbark - ashley_rivenbark@med.unc.edu