Recent News 2

Parise Nominated as President-Elect of AMGDB
Congratulations to Leslie Parise, professor and chair of Biochemistry and Biophysics on her election as the new President of AMGDB to begin in January, 2018.
Grad student Benfeard Williams receives his PhD
Benfeard successfully defended his dissertation and received his PhD on March 24, 2017.
Department bids farewell to Amanda
After 9 years of dedicated service to the Department, Amanda will transition into a new position in the Office of Sponsored Research on March 27, 2017.
Welcome Megan DeMarco our new Pre-Award Grants Manager
Megan DeMarco, our new Pre-Award Grants Manager, is currently working on generating proposals with several Biochemistry & Biophysics faculty.
Leslie Parise and Lloyd Kramer vie for UNC Chair of Faculty
The Office of Faculty Governance at UNC is pleased to announce the 2017 Chair of the Faculty candidates: Leslie Parise and Lloyd Kramer. Voting takes place on April 7th!
Two biochemistry and biophysics grad students awarded NSF Fellowships
Congratulations to Candice Crilly and Hanna Trzeciakiewicz for receiving Predoctoral Fellowships from the National Science Foundation!
Grad student Seth Zimmerman receives his PhD
Seth successfully defended his dissertation and received his PhD on March 17, 2017.
UNC research helps answer why genetic mutation leads to decreased triglycerides in blood
Cassandra Hayne, working with Saskia Neher, PhD, found that a specific mutated version of a lipoprotein binds more effectively to liver cells, thus explaining decreased levels of triglycerides in blood.
Bergmeier nominated to serve as an associate editor for JTH
Congratulations to Wolfgang Bergmeier, associate professor of biochemistry and biophysics who was just named as a new associate editor for the Journal of Thrombosis and Haemostasis.
Zhang receives a CAREER award from the NSF
Congratulations to Qi Zhang, Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics who received a Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) award from the National Science Foundation (NSF)!