Welcome to the UNC Department of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery


We have a long history of excellence, with countless advances, accomplishments, and achievements over the past half-century. Our skilled faculty, residents, and staff are committed to providing patients with the highest quality health care, advancing medical knowledge through state of the art research, and the highest quality medical training for residents.

UNC Department of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery
(Photo credit: Nicolette DeGroot) Front row: Drs. Harold Pillsbury, Adam Zanation, Brent Senior, Carlos Ebert, Craig Buchman, Oliver Adunka, Visiting Professor Fred Kuhn, Andrea Jarchow. Second Row: Drs. Julia Kimbell, Paul Manis, Michael Ferguon, Douglas Fitzpatrick, William Shockley, Joseph Hall. Back Row: Drs. Allen Marshall, Mark Weissler, Carlton Zdanski, Robert Buckmire, Austin Rose, Peter Chikes, Madison Clark and Amelia Drake

Not pictured: Drs. Samip Patel, Rupali Shah, Emily Buss, Meg Dillon, Brett Dorfman, Hannah Eskridge, John Grose, Trevor Hackman, Neil Hayes, Andy Olshan, James O'Neil, Brien Pace, Pat Roush, Holly Teagle, Jose Zevallos, Lauren Kilpatrick, Kevin Brown and Brian Thorp