May 20

Forwarded at the request of Dr. Tony Lindsey, Chief of Staff


I am pleased to present the alphabetical list of candidates for the Medical Staff Executive Committee’s three open At-Large Member positions:


Candidate’s Name                           Department

Craig Buchman, MD, FACS                Otolaryngology

Timothy Daaleman, MD                     Family Medicine

John Downs, MD, MBA                      Medicine

Paola Gehrig, MD                               Obstetrics and Gynecology

Trevor Hackman, MD                         Otolaryngology

Kathleen A. Smith, MD                      Anesthesiology

Keith Smith, MD, PhD                       Radiology

Tina Willis, MD                                   Anesthesiology/Pediatrics


*Denotes current at-large member


You can read the candidates’ personal statements at


The election will utilize online voting.  As per the Bylaws, members of the Active Medical Staff may vote (Courtesy, Emeritus, and Honorary Staff, as well as Allied Health Practitioners, do not vote in Staff-wide elections).

Please point your browser to to visit the online voting site. You may vote for one, two or three candidates as you prefer.  You may vote any time between now and Friday, May 27th, 2011.



Current Members     Department               Term Expires

Carla Dupree               Medicine                       May 2011

Eldad Hadar                Surgery                         May 2012

David Henke               Medicine                      May 2012

Hong Jin Kim              Surgery                         May 2011

Michael Meyers           Surgery                         May 2012

Tina Willis                   Anesthesiology             May 2011




Thank you,



April Kollar

Executive Assistant to:

Dr. Tony Lindsey

Executive Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs and

Chief of Staff, UNC Hospitals

4030 Bondurant Hall, CB #7000

Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7000

Ph 919-966-8622

Fax 919-843-7705