Chancellor Presents Sheldon with Thomas Jefferson Award

September 16, 2011 -- George F. Sheldon, MD, is the 2011 recipient of the Thomas Jefferson Award.

Chancellor Holden Thorp presented Dr. George Sheldon with one of the University's most prestigious awards at the Sept. 16 meeting of the UNC Faculty Council.  Established in 1961, the Thomas Jefferson Award is presented annually to “that member of the academic community who through personal influence and performance of duty in teaching, writing, and scholarship has best exemplified the ideals and objectives of Thomas Jefferson.”

Full story in the Sept. 15 edition of the University Gazette.