Contact Us

UNC SOM Asheville Administration

 

 

Robyn Latessa MD                                          

  • Assistant Dean & Director                                                      Office: 828-771-3429      
  • robyn.latessa@mahec.net
  • Individual meetings with students throughout year
  • Career advising/mentoring
  • Final approval of curricular and student affairs issues

 

Sandy Whitlock MD (.20 FTE)

  • Assistant Director                                                                      Office:  828-771-3433
  • sandra.whitlock@msj.org
  • Didactics integration & preceptor development
  • Other activities, as deemed appropriate

 

Gaye Colvin MLIS

  • Director of Student Affairs                                                       Office: 828-771-3434  
  • gaye.colvin@mahec.net
  • Student health, medical & safety issues
  • Academic records, evaluations, one45, grades, shelf exam oversight
  • Affiliation agreements with preceptor sites and partner entities
  • Fulfillment of academic requirements of (& equivalency with) UNC SOM and LCME

 

Jessica Poston

  • Director of Curriculum                                                              Office: 828-771-3468  
  • jessica.poston@mahec.net
  • Annual student arrival & orientation to campus
  • Credentialing & onboarding throughout 3rd year
  • Curriculum and calendars, including master calendar, student Google calendars, & ED scheduling
  • Shelf exam management, scheduling logistics and administration

 

Terri Ippolito

  • Program & Fiscal Coordinator                                                Office: 828-771-3433        
  • terri.ippolito@mahec.net
  • Dr. Latessa’s schedule, including individual student meetings
  • Weekly didactics schedule & meeting management
  • Annual recruitment & interview process, including arranging visits to Asheville for interested students
  • Fiscal budget management with Dr. Latessa & contract review process

 

Amanda Greene, MPA (.25 FTE)

  • Director, Fourth Year Programming                                     Office: 828-771-4225        
  • amanda.greene@mahec.net
  • Informational session for 4th year students, scheduling packets/info.
  • 4th year course management, updates, approvals, including maintaining & recruiting sites & preceptors

 

Jeff Heck MD

  • Associate Dean & President/CEO MAHEC                          Office: 828-257-4406
  • jeff.heck@mahec.net
  • Ombudsman-Positive learning environment and safety of process for students

 

 

 

Course Directors

Cardiology - Rhoda Brosnan MD - rhodab@avlcard.com 

Ethics - Kathy Meacham PhD - krmeacham@gmail.com & Ira Sloan, MD - 2bjust2b@gmail.com

Emergency Medicine - Sumner Mitchell MD- anresumi@gmail.com & Billy Lewis - imbblewis@gmail.com

Family Medicine - Robyn Latessa MD - robyn.latessa@mahec.net

Internal Medicine - Josh Bernstein MD - bernstein.josh@gmail.com

Neurology - Duff Rardin MD- duff.rardin@msj.org

OB/Gyn - Andrea Currens MD - andrea.currens@mahec.net

Pediatrics - Ansley Miller MD - ansley.miller@msj.org

Psychiatry - Steve Buie MD -

Radiology - Charlie Rowe MD - ctrowe@aol.com & John Ende MD jende@bellsouth.net

Surgery - Randy Johnson MD - randalldjohnson@gmail.com