Contact Us

UNC SOM Asheville Administration

 

Robyn Latessa MD                                          

  • Assistant Dean & Director                                                            Office: 828-771-3429  
  • robyn.latessa@mahec.net
  • Duties: Overall responsibility of campus and student affairs, direct contact with students and faculty, liaison between UNC SOM and Asheville campus.

 

Norma Beaty MS, MAEd

  • Director of Curriculum & Student Affairs                               Office: 828-771-3433  
  • norma.beaty@mahec.net
  • Duties: All aspects of the curriculum and student schedules, testing and evaluations, student orientation and credentials for each site.

 

Gaye Colvin MLIS

  • Associate Director of Curriculum & Student Affairs           Office: 828-771-3434   
  • gaye.colvin@mahec.net
  • Duties: Assist director in all aspects of curriculum and student affairs.

 

Jessica Poston

  • Program Coordinator                                                                                     Office: 828-771-3468  
  • jessica.poston@mahec.net
  • Duties: Manages schedules for Dr. Latessa and students, maintains preceptor contracts and affiliation agreements, processes preceptor payments and all financial transactions.

 

Lisa Keiber

  • Program Assistant (.25 FTE)                                                         Office: 828-771-4430      
  • lisa.keiber@mahec.net
  • Duties:  Processes faculty appointments, coordinates alumni and preceptor newsletters.

 

Course Directors

Cardiology – Rhoda Brosnan MD - rhodab@avlcard.com 

Ethics – Kathy Meacham PhD - krmeacham@gmail.com

Emergency Medicine – Sumner Mitchell MD anresumi@gmail.com & Billy Lewis - imbblewis@gmail.com

Family Medicine – Robyn Latessa MD - robyn.latessa@mahec.net

Internal Medicine – Josh Bernstein MD – bernstein.josh@gmail.com

Neurology – Jennifer Jones DO –  jmjenn@gmail.com

OB/Gyn – Andrea Currens MD – andrea.currens@mahec.net

Pediatrics – Ansley Miller MD – ansley.miller@msj.org

Psychiatry – Steve Buie MD – sbuie@pisgahinstitute.com

Radiology – Charlie Rowe MD ctrowe@aol.com & John Ende MD jende@bellsouth.net

Surgery – Randy Johnson MD – randalldjohnson@gmail.com