Contact Us

UNC SOM Asheville Administration

 

Robyn Latessa MD                                          

  • Director & Assistant Dean                     Office: 828-771-3429            
  • robyn.latessa@mahec.net
  • Individual meetings with students throughout the year including career advising and mentoring
  • Support of student scholarly activity
  • Oversight of curricular and student affairs issues and liaison with Chapel Hill leadership

 Sandy Whitlock MD (.20 FTE)                        Office:  828-771-3433

  •  Assistant Director                                                                                     
  • sandra.whitlock@msj.org
  • Preceptor development
  • Individual meetings with students throughout the year including career advising and mentoring

 Gaye Colvin MLIS (.75 FTE)

  • Director of Student Affairs                       Office: 828-771-3434        
  • gaye.colvin@mahec.net
  • Student health, medical & safety issues
  • Academic records, evaluations, one45, grades, shelf exam oversight
  • Affiliation agreements with preceptor sites and partner entities
  • Credentialing & onboarding throughout 3rd year

 Jessica Poston

  • Director of Curriculum                              Office: 828-771-3468
  • jessica.poston@mahec.net
  • Annual student arrival and orientation to campus
  • Curriculum and calendars, including master calendar, student Google calendars, shelf exam oversight & ED scheduling
  • Website management

 Terri Ippolito

  • Program & Fiscal Coordinator                Office: 828-771-3433        
  • terri.ippolito@mahec.net
  • Dr. Latessa's schedule, including individual student meetings
  • Weekly didactics schedule & meeting management
  • Annual recruitment & interview process, including arranging visits to Asheville for interested students
  • Fiscal budget management with Dr. Latessa & contract review process

Lisa Keiber

  •  Director, Fourth Year Programming             Office: 828-257-4430        
  • lisa.keiber@mahec.net
  • Informational session for 4th year students, scheduling packets/info.
  • 4th year course management, updates, approvals, including maintaining & recruiting sites & preceptors
  • Processes faculty appointments, coordinates alumni and preceptor newsletters

Josh Bernstein

  • Director of Didactics                                                                       Cell: 828-458-8712

  • Bernstein.josh@gmail.com        

  • Organization, integration, and evaluation of didactic sessions across specialties


Jeff Heck MD

 

  • Associate Dean & President/CEO MAHEC                          Office: 828-257-4406

  • jeff.heck@mahec.net

  • Ombudsman-Positive learning environment and safety of process for students


 

Course Directors

Cardiology – Rhoda Brosnan MD - rhodab@avlcard.com 

Ethics – Kathy Meacham PhD - krmeacham@gmail.com & Ira Sloan, MD – 2bjust2b@gmail.com

Emergency Medicine – Sumner Mitchell MD -anresumi@gmail.com & Billy Lewis - imbblewis@gmail.com

Family Medicine – Benjamin Gilmer MD - benjamin.gilmer@mahec.net

Internal Medicine – Josh Bernstein MD - bernstein.josh@gmail.com

Neurology – Duff Rardin MD- Duff.Rardin@msj.org

OB/Gyn – Andrea Currens MD – andrea.currens@mahec.net

Pediatrics – Ansley Miller MD -ansley.miller@msj.org

Psychiatry – Steve Buie MD - sbuie@pisgahinstitute.com

Radiology – Charlie Rowe MD - ctrowe@aol.com & John Ende MD jende@bellsouth.net

Surgery – Randy Johnson MD - randalldjohnson@gmail.com 


  •