Senior Award Nominations by Faculty

School of Medicine faculty members are encouraged to nominate members of the Class of 2016 for traditional awards which will be presented at commencement on May 7, 2016. Nominations must be submitted by March 18, 2016.

The Christopher C. Fordham Award
This award was established in honor of Dr. Fordham for his outstanding and creative leadership in medical and higher education. Former Dean of the medical school, Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs, and Chancellor of UNC-CH, Dr. Fordham passed away in 2008. He will long be remembered by the medical and university communities. This award recognizes a graduating student for outstanding and creative leadership at the medical school. Nominations for this award are solicited from the chairs of the departments based on faculty recommendations and from graduating students. Recipient receives a monetary award.
Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award
This award is presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. Recipients should consistently demonstrate compassion and empathy in the delivery of care, show respect for all, demonstrate cultural sensitivity, display effective communication and listening skills, adhere to professional ethical standards, understand a patient's need for interpretation of a complex medical diagnosis while showing respect for a patient's viewpoint, pay attention to patients' psychological well-being, engender trust and confidence, and remain personally committed to self-evaluation. The senior recipient should also be willing to help others and accept help from others when necessary, engage in volunteer activities showing concern for the welfare of the community, and seek and accept criticism for improvement of performance. Recipient receives a monetary award.
The Isaac Hall Manning Award
In 1954, an anonymous donor established a fund to provide an annual award in honor of Dr. Manning, Class of 1895, who served the School of Medicine from 1905 to 1933 as a professor of Physiology and as Dean. Members of the graduating class are nominated by faculty for scholarship, character, leadership, initiative, and original investigative work. Recipient receives a monetary award.