Ron Swanstrom elected as Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology

The American Academy of Microbiology (AAM), the honorific leadership group within the American Society for Microbiology (ASM), just announced that M&I Professor Ron Swanstrom ( has been elected as one of the 2014 Fellows. Selection for fellowship is a highly competitive annual peer review process, based on scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced the field of microbiology. Ron joins ten other current M&I faculty members who are AAM Fellows: Ralph Baric, Peggy Cotter, Blossom Damania, Jeff Dangl, Peter Gilligan, Bill Goldman, Virginia Miller, Joe Pagano, Nancy Raab-Traub, and Fred Sparling.

Congratulations also to Nancy Haigwood, M&I alum and LinkedIn Group member (, who was also just elected as a 2014 AAM Fellow.