Dirk Dittmer and Victor Garcia elected as Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology

The American Academy of Microbiology (AAM), the honorific leadership group within the American Society for Microbiology (ASM), just announced that M&I Professors Dirk Dittmer and J. Victor Garcia-Martinez have been elected as 2016 Fellows. Selection for fellowship is a highly competitive annual peer review process, based on scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced the field of microbiology. Congratulations to Dirk and Victor, who join 11 other current M&I faculty members who are AAM Fellows: Ralph Baric, Mike Cohen, Peggy Cotter, Blossom Damania, Jeff Dangl, Peter Gilligan, Bill Goldman, Virginia Miller, Joe Pagano, Nancy Raab-Traub, and Ron Swanstrom.

Congratulations also to our colleague Melissa Miller, Director of UNC’s Clinical Molecular Microbiology Laboratory, who was also just elected as an AAM Fellow.

Click here - Check out these UNC News stories