Site Information and Contacts

Listed are the offerings for Academic Year 2012-2013


Asheville

Mountain AHEC in Asheville, NC
DIRECTOR:  Dr. Andrea Currens Andrea.Currens@mahec.net
CONTACT:   Nioma Lawson  (828) 771-5511 nioma.lawson@mahec.net

The Asheville rotation accepts at least two but no more than three students per rotation. (If there is only one student enrolled, that student will be moved to a different site.) Current staffing includes six full-time and one part-time faculty physicians, four certified nurse-midwives, two nurse practitioners and 16 residents. Students who require housing must complete an application.

Click here for more detailed off-site information.

to top


Chapel Hill

NC Women's Hospital at UNC in Chapel Hill, NC
DIRECTOR:  Dr. Alice Chuang alice_chuang@med.unc.edu
CONTACT: Sara Tinkham (919) 962-5166

Each of the maximum of nine students are assigned to blocks in obstetrics, gynecologic oncology, and benign gynecology and outpatient clinics. There are a variety of learning experiences with faculty, residents, fellows and midwives in various divisions.

to top


Charlotte

Carolinas Medical Center in Charlotte, NC
DIRECTOR: Dr. Susan Bliss Susan.Bliss@carolinashealthcare.org
CONTACT: Gina Davis (704) 355-3829  Gina.Davis@carolinashealthcare.org

Seven students may be assigned to Charlotte and scheduled to blocks of obstetrics, gynecology, and gynecologic oncology. Along with 24 full-time faculty members, the Charlotte residency program has 24 residents. Students who require housing must complete an application and provide a $50.00 refundable deposit.

Click here for more detailed off-site information.

to top


Raleigh

CARElina OB/GYN at Wake Medical in Raleigh, NC
DIRECTOR: Drs. Ritu Sandhu and  Angela Gantt Holliday rsandhu@wakemed.org / angela_gantt@med.unc.edu
CONTACT: Maria Paneto (919) 350-8535 MPANETO@wakemed.org

There can be a maximum of four students at Wake for a mixed experience in obstetrics and gynecology. The residents at Wake are from the UNC program and there are 10 full time faculty members. There are no housing facilities at Wake.

Click here for more detailed off-site information.

to top


Wilmington *

(The Wilmington site is not available in Academic Year 2012-2013)

Coastal AHEC at New Hanover Regional Hospital in Wilmington, NC
DIRECTOR: Dr. Ashwin Patel
CONTACT: Linda Williams (910) 762-9093 Linda.Williams@seahec.net


Wilmington accepts a maximum of two students (every other block) for a combination of obstetrics and gynecology. There are six full-time faculty members and 12 residents. Students are housed in apartments adjacent to the hospital, usually two students to a room.

Download housing form here.

Southeast AHEC/ORPCE Housing Contact: debra.hamilton@seahec.net  or phone: 910/343-0161 (do not call OB/GYN office)

to top