Awards & Grants

Listing of grants and awards received.

  • Benjamin Chi, MD, was awarded a MAC AIDS Fund grant in the amount of $350,000 for his research entitled “Aliyense - Reaching Every Family to End Pediatric HIV.” This award was made to the Centre for Infectious Disease Research in Zambia (CIDRZ).
  • Leslie Clark, MD, Resident, received the Best Resident Oral Presentation Award at the 28th Annual Meeting of the Mid-Atlantic Gynecologic Oncology Society in 2013.
  • Kemi Doll, MD, was awarded a Foundation for Gynecologic Oncology Research Institute grant in the amount of $10,000 for her research entitled “Exploring care models in gynecologic oncology: The impact of distance and demographic factors on high-volume center care.”
  • Elizabeth Geller, MD on behalf of the Urogynecology & Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery division was selected as a recipient of the 2014-2015 Intuitive Surgical Clinical Robotic Fellowship. Intuitive Surgical, Inc. is pleased to provide you with an educational grant in the amount of $62,500.00 payable in quarterly installments for the time period July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015. 
  • William Goodnight, MD, was appointed to the Board of Directors of the Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine.
  • Hendree Jones, PhD, received a National Institute on Drug Abuse R34 Behavioral Therapy Development Grant entitled “Improving Women's Sexual Health While in Drug Addiction Treatment.” The total amount of the award over three years is $592,000. This study will develop and initially evaluate Sex and Female Empowerment (SAFE), an intervention designed to increase acceptance of and adherence to contraceptive practices among opioid-agonist-maintained women of childbearing age. The intervention will be delivered in one of two formats: a face-to-face brief intervention approach or a novel computer-adaptive platform. To the extent that either version of SAFE is found to be efficacious compared with usual care, it has the potential to reduce the number of unintended pregnancies and consequently decrease the need for and the costs of child protective services.
  • Monica Schointuch (Laboratory of Dr. Victoria Bae-Jump), received the Best Medical Student Oral Presentation Award at the 28th Annual Meeting of the Mid-Atlantic Gynecologic Oncology Society in 2013.
  • Anna Maria Siega-Riz, Myles Faith (co-PIs), Alison Stuebe, MD, Wanda Nicholson, MD (co-investigators), received a National Institute of Child Health and Human Development contract in the amount of $676,141 for September 2013-March 2015 for their research entitled “Diet, Obesity and Weight Change in Pregnancy.”
  • John F. Steege, MD received a lifetime achievement award from AAGL.
  • Alison Stuebe, MD, was awarded the 2013-2014 Jefferson Pilot Fellowship in Academic Medicine. The total amount is $20,000. 
  • Jennifer Wu, MD, Catherine Matthews, MD, and Michele Jonsson-Funk, PhD, received the Best Epidemiology Paper award at the 2013 American Urogynecologic Society Annual Scientific Meeting for “Lifetime risk of surgery for stress incontinence and pelvic organ prolapse.”
  • Steven Young, MD 
    • Named Chairman of the Triangle Consortium for Reproductive Biology
    • Received the American Society of Reproductive Medicine’s 2013 Star Award
    • Received the Reproductive Immunology SIG Prize Paper at the 2013 ASRM Meeting for “Characterization of endometrial natural killer cells in women with infertility or recurrent pregnancy loss and associated endometriosis.”
    Filed under: