Surgical Pathology Fellowship

Program Description: The UNC School of Medicine Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine offers a one-year Fellowship/Instructorship in Surgical Pathology. This training year is intended for board-eligible or board-certified anatomic pathologists who want progressive responsibility in the practice of academic Surgical Pathology. UNC Surgical Pathology volume is ~33,000 cases per year (not including dermatopathology and hematopathology) and represents a broad spectrum of pathology. Service responsibilities include case diagnosis, case reporting, outside case review, and case presentation at multidisciplinary conferences. No grossing is required. In the Fall, the Fellow’s service work is supervised, and his/her diagnoses are finalized by faculty. In the late Fall, Fellows are credentialed by the Hospital to allow independent sign-out of cases, and are appointed as faculty Instructors. In the Spring, these Instructors diagnose and sign out cases independently. In addition to these service responsibilities, opportunities are available for didactic and slide-based teaching of medical students and residents. Two months of electives allow time for rotations through other specialties (dermatopathology, hematopathology, neuropathology, molecular pathology), projects, writing, meeting presentations, and job interviews.

Program Requirements: Applicants must possess an MD degree, be board-eligible/board-certified in Anatomic Pathology, and be eligible for medical licensure in North Carolina.

Stipends: Fellowship stipends are commensurate with postgraduate year of training, currently $59,862 for a PGY5, with an increase during the Instructorship appointment.

Program Director: William K. Funkhouser, MD, PhD, Director of Anatomic and Surgical Pathology

Faculty Members:

 Leslie G. Dodd, MD — Cytopathology and surgical pathology; neoplasms of bone and soft tissue

 William K. Funkhouser, MD, PhD — Surgical pathology and molecular pathology

 Kevin Greene, MD — Surgical pathology, cytopathology, and gastrointestinal pathology

 Johann D. Hertel, MD — Cytopathology and surgical pathology

 Thomas J. Lawton, MD — Surgical pathology and breast pathology

 Ruth A. Lininger, MD, MPH — Surgical pathology, gynecologic and breast pathology

 Susan J. Maygarden, MD — Urologic pathology and lung pathology

 Siobhan M. O'Connor, MD — Surgical pathology of the breast and cytopathology

 Eizaburo Sasatomi, MD — Hepatobiliary and transplant pathology

 Lori R. Scanga, MD, PhD — Cytopathology, gynecologic pathology, and molecular pathology

 Scott V. Smith, MD — Surgical pathology and pediatric pathology

 Dimitri M. Trembath, MD, PhD — Neuropathology, gastrointestinal pathology, and molecular pathology

 Sara E. Wobker, MD, MPH — Urologic pathology and cytopathology

 John T. Woosley, MD, PhD — Surgical pathology, dermatopathology, and gastrointestinal pathology


Applications for 2018–19:  The Standardized Application for Pathology Fellowships from the  College of American Pathologists, 3 current letters of recommendation (one of which must be from your Program Director), and ECFMG certification should be submitted. Applications must be received by August 31, 2016, and mailed to Michelle Hewlings, Fellowship Coordinator, at the address below. Interviews will be conducted in September 2016, with offers made by mid-October.

For additional information, please contact…

GME in Pathology
BBB CB #7525
Chapel Hill, NC 27599–7525

Telephone: 984-974-9132