Former Raney Professors

The Raney Visiting Professorship was started in 1972 as a tribute to Dr. R. Beverly Raney, the first chief of Orthopaedics at the University of North Carolina, as a two and one-half day program of lectures and presentations by the residents, alumni, and the Visiting Professor. During this time, the graduating chief residents present their research theses, which are critiqued by the RVP. (See this year's Schedule of Events.)

R. Beverly Raney Visiting Professors
1972 Charles S. Neer, II, MD 1993 Harold M. Dick, MD
1973 Wayne O. Southwick, MD 1994 Gary E. Friedlaender, MD
1974 Charles Gregory, MD 1995 Frederick A. Matsen III, MD
1975 Robert B. Salter, MD 1996 James A. Urbaniak, MD
1976 Roby C. Thompson, Jr., MD 1997 Bernard F. Morrey, MD
1977 Vert Mooney, MD 1998 Freddie F. Fu, MD
1978 Henry J. Mankin, MD 1999 Richard C. Gelberman, MD
1979 Albert B. Ferguson, Jr., MD 2000 Marc F. Swiontkowski, MD
1980 William F. Enneking, MD 2001 Per Renstrom, MD, PhD
1981 Richard L. Cruess, MD 2002 Colin F. Moseley, MD
1982 G. Dean MacEwen, MD 2003 Cecil H. Rorabeck, MD
1983 John J. Gartland, MD 2004 Roy V. Sanders, MD
1984 Patrick J. Kelly, MD 2005 Randy N. Rosier, MD, PhD
1985 E. Burke Evans, MD 2006 Brian J. Cole, MD, MBA
1986 Lee H. Riley, Jr., MD 2007 Michael J. Bosse, MD
1987 Charles A. Rockwood, Jr., MD 2008 Louis U. Bigliani, MD
1988 Clement B. Sledge, MD 2009 Peter J. Stern, MD
1989 Paul Griffin, MD 2010 Joseph A. Buckwalter, MD
1990 Wayne Akeson, MD 2011 Paul Tornetta, III, MD
1991 C. McCollister Evarts, MD 2012 Bernard R. Bach, Jr., MD
1992 Michael W. Chapman, MD 2013 Regis J. O'Keefe, MD, PhD
2014 Charles Saltzman, MD