Dr. Gary Johnson Named Kenan Professor

Dr. Johnson, Chair of the Department of Pharmacology, receives Distinguished Kenan Professorship to honor his excellence in research and teaching at UNC.

Dr. Gary Johnson Named Kenan Professor click to enlarge Dr. Gary Johnson, Kenan Professor and Chair of the Department of Pharmacology

Dr. Gary Johnson and the Department of Pharmacology have been awarded a Distinguished Kenan Professorship.  Kenan Professorships are awarded to honor excellence in teaching and research at UNC.  Our congratulations to Dr. Johnson!

Originally established in 1917 by Mary Lily Kenan Flagler, the Kenan Distinguished Professorships help the university to attract and retain high caliber faculty by providing distinguished professors with extra, endowed funding. The number of Kenan professorships were further expanded in 1965 by gifts from the Kenan Trust, established by a behest from William R. Kenan, Jr.  The large number of endowed Kenan Distinguished Professorships at Carolina has helped to promote and maintain the university’s high academic standing.