Pharmacology Holds Annual Research Retreat

The department of Pharmacology held its Annual Research Retreat at the Friday Center November 8, 2011.

Pharmacology Holds Annual Research Retreat click to enlarge Poster presentations at the Annual Pharmacology Research Retreat 2011

The theme for the first half of this year's retreat was on "Academic Entrepreneurism: How to Successfully Translate Your Research into a Company."

Invited speakers who spoke on this topic included: Timothy A. J. Haystead, PhD, Associate Professor of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology, Duke University, who spoke on “Exploiting Serendipity to Discover New Drugs,” and Colin R. F. Monks, PhD, Intelligent Imaging Innovations, Inc., Denver, CO, who spoke on "The Story of 3i, How a Company of Scientists Survive on the Leading Edge."

After lunch, invited speaker, Gaudenz Danuser, PhD, Professor of Cell Biology, Harvard Medical School, gave a talk about "Peeking at Cellular Signals and Their Function by Computer Vision." Dr. Danuser was followed by six graduate student and postdoc presentations:

Martilias S. Farrell, 5th year Graduate Student: “Selective Modulation of Striatopallidal Gas Signaling Using a DREADD Enables Differential Modulation of Behavioral Sensitization and Conditioned Place Preference to Amphetamine.”

Andrei V. Karginov, PhD, Research Assistant Professor: “Engineered Allosteric Regulation of Kinase Activity in Living Cells.”

Jason R. Goldsmith, 4th Year Graduate Student: “Intestinal Epithelial Cell (IEC)-derived mu-opioid Signaling is Protective Against Two Models of Acute Murine Intestinal Injury.”

Emily A. Oestreich, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow: “A ‘Regulator of G-protein Signaling’ (RGS) Protein Involved in CNS Synapto-pathologies and Mouse Behavioral Correlates of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder.”

Nicole Vincent Jordan, 5th Year Graduate Student: “Chromatin Dynamics Regulate Epithelial-Mesenchymal Transition in Epithelial Stem Cells and Cancer.”

Yang Wang, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow: “Systematic Identification and Study of Intronic Splicing Enhancer and Cognate Splicing Factors”

As at every retreat there were about 60 poster presentations of current research.  Posters were judged in two sessions and awards were given  for the five best poster presentations.  An award was also given to the best student/postdoc speaker.  

The best speaker award went to Emily Oestreich.  Best poster awards went to Pei-Hsuan Chu, Chia Li, Danielle Cook, Ernesto Perez-Chanona, and Bryan Richardson.  Winners received a check for $100.  Congratulations to all the winners!

Photo below: Left to right: Pei-Hsuan Chu, Danielle Cook Emily Oestreich, Ernesto Perez-Chanona, and Bryan Richardson.  not pictured: Chia Li. (Click for larger view.)

Pei-Hsuan Chu, Danielle Cook, Emily Oestreich, Ernesto Perez-Chanona, and Bryan Richardson.

More photos (click for larger view):

Colin Monks and Gary Johnson -125Tim Haystead, Lee Graves, Adrianna Beltane, and Pilar Blancafort - 125Gaudenz Danuser and Klaus Hahn - 125Posters presentations 2 - 125
Poster presentations 7 - 125 Poster presentations 4 - 125 Poster presentations 6 - 125 Poster presentations 9 - 125
Poster presentations 12 - 125 Poster presentations 15 - 125 Poster presentations 21 - 125 Poster presentations 22 - 125
Social mixer 1 - 125 Social mixer 2 - 125 Social mixer 3 - 125 Social mixer 4 - 125


Research Retreat 2011 Agenda (pdf)