Steelman Symposium to Honor Dr. Gary L. Johnson

When May 15, 2018
from 01:00 PM to 06:20 PM
Where 1131 Bioinformatics Auditorium
Contact Name
Contact Phone 919-843-3107
Add event to calendar vCal

Pharmacology is sponsoring the Steelman Symposium in Honor of Gary L. Johnson, Kenan Distinguished Professor, who was Chair of Pharmacology from 2003-2016.

Gary Johnson

Invited speakers:

  • Roger J. Davis, PhD, FRS  - Investigator, HHMI, Arthur Smith Chair & Professor, Program in Molecular Medicine, U. of Massachusetts Medical School
    Talk title: "Stress Signaling in the Mammary Epithelium
  • James S. Duncan, PhD  - Cancer Biology, Fox Chase Cancer Center
    Talk title: "Defining K-Ras mutation specific kinome signature and vulnerabilities in colorectal cancer"
  • Amy Abell, PhD - Biological Sciences, U. Memphis
    Talk title: "Epigenetic regulation of epithelial-mesenchymal transition in stem cells and Claudin-low breast cancer"
  • Michael P. Czech, PhD - Professor & Chair, Program in Molecular Medicine, U. of Massachusetts Medical School
    Talk title: "Adipocyte to neuron crosstalk to control systemic metabolism"
  • Ellen Weiss, PhD - Professor, Dept. of Cell Biology & Physiology, UNC
    Talk title: "A tale of two kinases and other stories"
  • Lynn Heasley, PhD - Professor & Chair, Dept. of Craniofacial Biology, U. of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
    Talk title: "Finishing off the leftovers: Searching for druggable vulnerabilities in oncogene inhibitor-reprogrammed residual disease"
  • Shelton Earp, MD - Director, UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, Pharmacology, UNC
    Talk title: "Mer receptor tyrosine kinase: From discover to targeting in cancer cells and the innate immune system" 
Opening remarks will be made by T. Kendall Harden, PhD, Kenan Distinguished Professor Emeritus.
Closing remarks will be made by Henrik G. Dohlman, Sanford Steelman Distinguished Professor and Chair of Pharmacology.