Wake ACT (Assertive Community Treatment) Team

Assisting individuals in living meaningful and productive lives in the community.

 

UNC's ACT Team is well-known for its success in providing transition support for individuals with severe mental illness as they move from a facility to living in the community. With expansion of UNC clinics to Wake County, a new Wake ACT Team now serves patients in Wake County.

This evidenced- based practice model provides an individual with a comprehensive team of mental health professionals and paraprofessionals with a common goal of assisting the person with maintaining community placement, preferably in an independent living situation. It serves individuals in various settings, including home, work and community.

The team is comprised of a team leader, mental health professionals, nursing staff, a team psychiatrist, housing specialist, vocational specialist, substance abuse specialist and a peer support specialist. Individuals are seen an average of 12 times per month for medication monitoring, symptom monitoring, therapeutic interventions, and care coordination activities. The team is available to patients 24/7, 365 days/yr.

Individuals who meet criteria for this service typically have an Axis 1 diagnosis of schizophrenia or other psychotic disorder or Bi-polar disorder. In addition, the person will likely have a recent history of multiple hospitalizations, be at risk for homelessness, or have difficulty engaging in “traditional office based” services.

Contact: 919.445.0296

Wake ACT TEAM

Carrie Brown, MDCarrie Brown, MD
Psychiatrist and Team Physician
carrie_brown@med.unc.edu

 

 

 

 

Troy Mclean, LCSW, MSW, CCS
Team Lead
troy_mclean@med.unc.edu

Emily Clark, LCSW, MS, CCS
Substance Abuse Specialist
emily_clark@med.unc.edu

Evette Clement, RN
Team Nurse
evette_clement@med.unc.edu

Edgar Garrido, MSW LCSW-A
Mental Health Specialist
edgar_garrido@med.unc.edu

Jeff Neer, RNNeer, BA,,CPS
Peer Specialist
jeff_neer@med.unc.edu

 

 

 

Kelly Nelson,MS, CRS
Vocational Specialist
k_nelson@med.unc.edu

Program Coordinator

Jasper Fleming BA
Program Coordinator
Jasper_Fleming@med.unc.edu