UNC ACT (Assertive Community Treatment) Team

Assisting individuals in living meaningful and productive lives in the community.

The Center's ACT Team is well-known for its success in providing transition support for individuals with severe mental illness as they move from a facility to living in the community.

This evidenced- based practice model provides an individual with a comprehensive team of mental health professionals and paraprofessionals with a common goal of assisting the person with maintaining community placement, preferably in an independent living situation. It serves individuals in various settings, including home, work, and community.

The team is comprised of a team leader, mental health professionals, nursing staff, a team psychiatrist, housing specialist, vocational specialist, substance abuse specialist and a peer support specialist. Individuals are seen an average of 12 times per month for medication monitoring, symptom monitoring, therapeutic interventions, and care coordination activities. The team is available to patients 24/7, 365 days/yr.

Individuals who meet criteria for this service typically have an Axis 1 diagnosis of schizophrenia or other psychotic disorder or Bi-polar disorder. In addition, the person will likely have a recent history of multiple hospitalizations, be at risk for homelessness, or have difficulty engaging in “traditional office based” services.

Referrals Contact:  main clinic number at Carr Mill Clinic 919.962.4919

Note that referrals for the Wake County ACT Team can be made through our Wake officeed at 919.445.0350.

Carol

Carol Vanderzwagg. MD
Medical Director for Community Services

 

 

Kristin Lukasiewicz, MSW
Act Team Leader
kristin_lukasiewicz@med.unc.edu

 Carly Brinster, MA
ACT Professional
carly_brinster@med.unc.edu

Erin Canute, LPCA,CRC
Supportive Employment
erin_canute@unc.edu

Zack Feder, AP
Associate Mental Health Professional
zack_felder@med.unc.edu

Xela Intrator, RN
Nursing Staff

 Al Jones-Bey, CPSS
Peer Support Specialist
al_jones-bey@med.unc.edu

Hillary Little

Hillary  Little, MS, CRC, LPCA
Employment Specialist
hillary_little@med.unc.edu

 

Derek Olsen, MSW
ACT Professional

derek_olsen@med.unc.edu

 

 

Cathia Ortiz
ACT Professional
cathia_ortiz@med.unc.edu

Erica Stribling, RN, BSN
Nursing Staff

 Eric Walker
ACTT Professional
eric_walker@med.unc.du

Jeff Williams, RN
Nursing Staff
jeffery_williams@med.unc.edu