UNC ACT (Assertive Community Treatment) Team

Assisting individuals in living meaningful and productive lives in the community.

The Center's ACT Team is well-known for its success in providing transition support for individuals with severe mental illness as they move from a facility to living in the community.

This evidenced- based practice model provides an individual with a comprehensive team of mental health professionals and paraprofessionals with a common goal of assisting the person with maintaining community placement, preferably in an independent living situation. It serves individuals in various settings, including home, work, and community.

The team is comprised of a team leader, mental health professionals, nursing staff, a team psychiatrist, housing specialist, vocational specialist, substance abuse specialist and a peer support specialist. Individuals are seen an average of 12 times per month for medication monitoring, symptom monitoring, therapeutic interventions, and care coordination activities. The team is available to patients 24/7, 365 days/yr.

Individuals who meet criteria for this service typically have an Axis 1 diagnosis of schizophrenia or other psychotic disorder or Bi-polar disorder. In addition, the person will likely have a recent history of multiple hospitalizations, be at risk for homelessness, or have difficulty engaging in “traditional office based” services.

Referrals Contact:  main clinic number at Carr Mill Clinic 919.962.4919

Carol

Carol Vanderzwagg. MD
Medical Director for Community Services

 


 

Kristin Lukasiewicz, MSW
Act Team Leader
kristin_lukasiewicz@med.unc.edu

 

 

Erin Canute, LPCA,CRC
Supportive Employment
erin_canute@unc.edu



 

Brian West
Peer Specialist
brian_west@med.unc.edu

 

 

Eric Walker
ACTT Professional
eric_walker@med.unc.du

 

 

Derek Olsen, MSW
ACT Professional

derek_olsen@med.unc.edu

 

 

Carly Brinster, MA
ACT Professional
carly_brinster@med.unc.edu

 

 

Cathia Ortiz
ACT Professional
cathia_ortiz@med.unc.edu

 

Hillary Little

Hillary  Little, MS, CRC, LPCA
Employment Specialist
hillary_little@med.unc.edu

 

 

David Causey

David Causey, LPC, CS
Substance Abuse Specialist
david_causey@med.unc.edu

 

 

Judith Causey, RN
ACT RN
judith_causey@med.unc.edu