Forensic Psychiatry Residency



The University of North Carolina Hospitals Forensic Psychiatry Residency Program is a 12-month educational program with the goal of preparing psychiatrists for a career in forensic psychiatry through a combination of supervised clinical experiences and didactic programs. The program has an emphasis on producing forensic psychiatrists for the public sector and provides educational opportunities in a wide range of criminal and civil settings. Residents have extensive opportunities to engage in supervised evaluations of individuals in the criminal justice system in both pre-trial and post-conviction settings. In addition, forensic psychiatry residents obtain experience in courtroom testimony, family law, child forensic issues, and civil litigation. Forensic psychiatry residents rotate on the inpatient pre-trial evaluation unit for the State of North Carolina, mental health clinics in nearby prisons, outpatient forensic evaluation clinic, and outpatient forensic family law evaluation team, with the latter two located on the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Campus.


The core forensic residency faculty currently consists of nine board-certified forensic psychiatrists, five forensic psychologists, and one attorney. The Central Regional Hospital Forensic Services Unit is the primary site for the forensic didactic curriculum. Forensic residency faculty members and invited speakers provide the didactic portion of the training. Didactic residency training activities are conducted in conjunction with the Central Regional Hospital Forensic Post-Doctoral Fellowship and Psychology Internship programs. In addition, forensic residents are expected to participate in a research or scholarly project. Training and supervision in research methodology is provided by faculty member.



Nicole Wolfe, M.D.- Director

Peter Barboriak, M.D., Ph.D.- Associate Director



To learn about Clinical Rotations, click here.

To learn about Didactics, click here.


Current Fellows

Thomas Recore, M.D. (2015-2016)

Jennifer Kemper, M.D.(2015-2016)