The extensive cliniFAC-KibbeMelina-160818.jpgcal services provided by the Department of Surgery are dedicated to the wellness and treatment of adults and children in North Carolina. We specialize in the most complicated illnesses and conditions, and serve as a surgical referral center for patients and physicians from throughout the United States and worldwide. Our faculty, staff, and residents are committed to service and excellence as we provide the best care possible, create new knowledge, and educate the surgeons and teachers of tomorrow.

In great appreciation and respect, I acknowledge the work and dedication of my predecessors, who served as Chairman of Surgery:
Nathan A. Womack, MD (1951-1966)
Colin G. Thomas, Jr., MD (1966-1984)
George F. Sheldon, MD (1984-2001)
Anthony A. Meyer, MD, PhD (2001-2016)

We welcome your interest and any questions you might have about our Department.


Melina Kibbe, MD
Colin G. Thomas, Jr., MD Distinguished Professor and Chair
Department of Surgery

Grand Rounds: Myung Park, MD (Mayo Clinic) Jul 18, 2018 07:15 PM - 08:15 PM
Grand Rounds: Tim Carey, MD & John Buse, MD Jul 25, 2018 07:15 AM - 08:15 AM
Faculty Meeting Aug 01, 2018 07:15 AM - 08:15 AM
Grand Rounds: John Alverdy, MD (Univ of Chicago) Aug 08, 2018 07:15 AM - 08:15 AM
Upcoming events…