Wiping Your Smartphone

As the latest issue of OUCH! noted, proper removal of data from personal and/or work related smartphones has become an increasingly important concern, given the large amount of data stored on smartphones. Please follow to the steps below to ensure that your old device is properly wiped before upgrading.

 

Device OS Procedure
Apple iOS Settings -> General -> Reset -> Erase all content and settings
Android Settings -> Privacy -> Factory data reset
Blackberry
Options -> Security Options -> Security Wipe
Windows Phone
Settings -> About -> Reset your phone

 

If you cannot find these options, look for a "factory reset" option within the phone's settings, or check the owner's manual. You may also be able to preform a security wipe by connecting the device to your PC or bringing it into your carrier technician.

 

To read more about the importance of removing data from your smartphone, click here for the May 2012 issue of OUCH!.