H. Max Schiebel, MD, Award for Surgical Professionalism

schiebelThe H. Max Schiebel, MD, Award for Surgical Professionalism has been generously endowed by Dr. and Mrs. H. Max Schiebel.

Dr. Schiebel received his undergraduate and medical education from Johns Hopkins University, completing his medical degree in 1933. After beginning his medical internship at Johns Hopkins, he completed it in 1934 at Duke University, where he won a coveted surgical residency position. Six years later, he opened a medical practice in Durham and performed surgical operations at Watts Hospital, Duke University, UNC-Chapel Hill and Lincoln Hospital. He also established a surgery residency at Lincoln Hospital in 1946 and served as Chief of Surgery at Lincoln Hospital until 1979. At that time, Watts Hospital and Lincoln Hospital joined to become Durham Regional Hospital.

Dr. Schiebel had a long and close relationship with the University of North Carolina School of Medicine. At the request of Dr. Reece Berryhill, Dr. Schiebel began a lecture course at UNC in 1941, when UNC was a two-year medical school, and added dog surgery training beginning in 1942 and lasting until 1952. Dr. Schiebel’s teaching prepared these students well for their clinical education and medical degree program at other universities. He also participated in establishing and directing a surgical residency program at Dorothea Dix Psychiatric Hospital in Raleigh. For his many years of outstanding service, Dr. Schiebel was recognized with the Distinguished Service Award from the Medical Alumni Association at UNC-Chapel Hill.

The H. Max Schiebel, MD, Award for Surgical Professionalism recognizes surgical skill and proficiency and is selected by a committee of surgical faculty and staff designated by the Chair of the Department of Surgery. Previous recipients are:


Kevin Chang, MD


Ashish Jain, MD


Nicole Chaumont, MD


Jessica Cioffi, MD


Philip Pepple, MD


Matthew Alleman, MD


Leora Tesche, MD


Heather Pennell, MD


Kristen Parker, MD


Lindsee McPhail, MD


Stacy Bennett, MD

Chris Rupp, MD


Tim Sadiq, MD


Heather Neuman, MD


Brian Clark, MD


Patricia Lange, MD