In-Service Award

In Service 2010

2010 Recipients with Dr. Bruce Cairns

From Left to Right: Leora Tesche, MD, Sally Stander, MD,       Bruce Cairns, MD, and Jeff Dehmer, MD


The four In-Service Awards given each year by the Department of Surgery recognize interns’ specific achievements on the A.B.S.I.T.E. exam (American Board of Surgery In-Training Examination). The four awards are distributed based on the following criteria:
1. Person who scored above the 90th percentile range on the exam.
2. The person with the highest score for a Junior Level Resident.
3. The person with the highest score for a Senior level resident.
4. The person with the highest percentage increase from the last exam.

The A.B.S.I.T.E. gauges the surgical residents’ knowledge in clinical and basic sciences. The test is intended to serve as an objective measure in order to determine competency for progression in the program. To learn more about the A.B.S.I.T.E., please visit

Prior recipients of the award include:

Junior Level Senior Level Highest increase
2003 - 2004 Nancy Moss, MD
Tach Bhati, MD
Karen Stitzenberg, MD
2004 - 2005 Aaron Garrison, MD* Ryan Heider, MD*
Heather Neuman, MD*
Tim Sadiq, MD*
Erika Rager, MD
2005 - 2006 Aaron Garrison, MD* Ryan Heider, MD* Stephanie Beidler, MD
2006 - 2007 Leora Tesche, MD Aaron Garrison, MD Brian Bednarski, MD
2007- 2008 Courtney Sommer, MD Aaron Garrison, MD* Faera Byerly, MD
2008 - 2009 Sally Stander, MD
Leora Tesche, MD*
Heather Pennell, MD
2009 - 2010 Sally Stander, MD* Leora Tesche, MD Jeff Dehmer, MD
2010 - 2011 Trista Reid, MD Brian Bednarski, MD* Micheal Phillips, MD
2011 - 2012 Kristen Sell, MD* Colin Bird, MD Colin Bird, MD

* Scored above the 90th percentile