Abrams Named Recipient of WakeMed's Harry Dascomb Award

April 7, 2010 -- Submitted by Dr. John Perry of the Dascomb Award Committee: I am happy to announce that Dr. Jeffrey Abrams is the 2010 recipient of the Harry Dascomb Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching and Care.

Dr. Abrams' many contributions in medical education, patient care, and medical staff leadership make him a truly deserving candidate. His teaching skills are greatly appreciated by the residents, students, and his physician colleagues. His high standards for the practice of medicine are a continuous and positive influence on patient care at WakeMed. Dr. Abrams has also taken on medical staff leadership roles and currently serves as the Chair of the Department of Surgery. Dr. Abrams is respected and admired not only within his department, but throughout the WakeMed educational program and the medical staff.

This yearly award is named after Dr. Harry Dascomb, an infectious disease physician at WakeMed who epitomized excellence in teaching and clinical medicine as well as compassionate patient care.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Abrams as this year's recipient of the Dascomb Award.