Personnel Actions: Schiro, Meyers, and Marston

February 1, 2010 -- The Department of Surgery announces the following appointments:

  • Sharon E. Schiro, PhD, of the Trauma/Critical Care division, was promoted to Research Associate Professor effective January 13, 2010.
  • Michael O. Meyers, MD, was promoted to Associate Professor of Surgery effective February 1, 2010.  Dr. Meyers is on faculty with the Divison of Surgical Oncology.
  • On February 1st, William A. Marston, MD, was named the George Johnson, Jr, Distinguished Professor of Vascular Surgery.  Dr. Marston is the Chief of Vascular Surgery and on faculty with the UNC Center for Heart and Vascular Care.  Dr. Johnson held many prominent positions in the Department of Surgery during his tenure from 1961 through 1993, among them Chief of the Division of Vascular Surgery, Chief of the Division of General Surgery, and Vice Chair of the Dept. of Surgery.