Wallen Named AUA Teacher of the Year

March 5, 2012 -- The Residents Committee of the American Urological Association has named Eric Wallen, MD, the 2012 recipient of the Teacher of the Year award.

This award, initiated by the Residents Committee and approved by the Board of the American Urological Association (AUA), is presented annually to recognize an outstanding urology educator or program director who has dedicated a portion of his/her career to teaching residents and advancing urology graduate medical education. The award also recognizes individuals who, by their example, influence residents to pursue careers in academic medicine and teaching.

This award will be presented to Dr. Wallen at the AUA Residents Committee Forum held Saturday, May 19, 2012, at the annual AUA meeting in Atlanta, Georgia.

- Lynn West, UNC Division of Urologic Surgery