Site News

Dr. Timothy Farrell elected into the American Surgical Association
Erica Peters receives AHA Postdoctoral Fellowship Award
Congratulations Dr. Tyler Ellis
Dr. Melina Kibbe leads national fight against sex bias in drug development
March 30 is National Doctors' Day!
Dr. Williams named Medical Director of BICU
Ernie Grant wins Artz Distinguished Service Award
Department of Surgery Winter Newsletter 2018
The Department of Surgery publishes a quarterly, online newsletter featuring the latest updates on our department's clinical, educational, and research developments along with a "Message from the Chair." Join us in welcoming our new team members and stay connected to learn about the exciting accomplishments of our faculty, trainees, staff, and alumni.
Dr. Jared Gallaher Awarded Second Place for Resident Paper
Resident Places Second at the Annual Resident Trauma Competition
29th Annual May Day Trauma Conference
Annual Trauma Conference to be Held at UNC's Friday Center
First Day of the UNC MS4 Surgery BootCamp
Dr. Katharine McGinigle and Dr. Corey Kalbaugh Receive Award
Congratulations to Drs. Kate McGinigle and Corey Kalbaugh for being awarded a UNC Center for Health Innovation’s 2018 Innovation Pilot Award for “Machine Learning to Stage Patients with Peripheral Arterial Disease”.
The Problem of Burnout Among Surgeons
UNC School of Medicine's Marco Patti, MD, is the senior author of an article on burnout in JAMA Surgery
Dr. Jason Crowner Receives Partnership Award
Doctors at UNC's Department of Surgery Receive $40,000 in awards to strengthen the general surgery education partnership
Dr. Marston Nominated as Secretary of the American Venous Forum
Dr. William Marston receives nomination
Dr. Trista Reid Honored as First Craver Professor
With the support and generosity of UNC School of Medicine alum Joseph M. Craver, MD ’67, the Office of Medical Education is proud to announce the creation of the Craver Professor Award honoring outstanding teachers in Internal Medicine, Pediatrics and Surgery who both inspire and change the lives of medical students through their teaching. The first Craver Professor Award recipient is Trista D. Reid, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor of Surgery in the Division of General Acute Care Surgery.
Surgery Faculty Awarded AAS Best Overall Manuscript by an AAS Member
Congratulations to Stephanie Lumpkin, Paula Strassle, and Nicole Chaumont
Dr. Caranasos & TAVR Team Praised in Patient Video Testimonial
Dr. Caranasos & the UNC TAVR Team (John Vavalle, MD, Matthew Cavender, MD, Cassie Ramm, MSN, and Tabitha Linville, BSN) received praise in a patient video testimonial for a successful Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement procedure.
Dr. Lawrence Kim Elected to American Board of Surgery
Dr. Lawrence Kim Elected to American Board of Surgery
Dr. Raghid Bitar Elected to Board of American College of Surgeons
Dr. Bitar Elected to Board of American College of Surgeons