Site News

Donating to Dr. Sheldon's Professorship
Dr. Sheldon's Obituary
Memorial Service for Dr. Keith Amos
Melissa Friend, PA Receives Plus People Award
In Memoriam: Keith D. Amos, MD
In Memoriam: George F. Sheldon, MD, FACS
UNC Fetal Care Program featured on WRAL
Advanced Practice Provider Center Appoints 14 to APP Council
Haithcock Wins Friend of Nursing Award
May 6 2013 -- Ben Haithcock, MD, FACS, FCCP, has been awarded the Friend of Nursing Award from UNC Hospitals.
Kiser and Ortiz-Pujols Inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha
May 03, 2013 -- Two residents inducted into honor society.
Team Led by Klauber-Demore uses Antibody to Inhibit Tumor Growth
April 22, 2013 -- A monoclonal antibody targeting a protein known as SFPR2 has been shown by researchers at the University of North Carolina to inhibit tumor growth in pre-clinical models of breast cancer and angiosarcoma.
Match Day Results 2013
March 15, 2013 -- Match Day Results
Quintana receives PlusPeople Award
March 5, 2013 -- Dr. Megan Quintana is selected as a recipient of the PlusPeople Award.
Department of Surgery Faculty Promotions
March 1, 2013 -- Four faculty members have received promotions within the department.
Inaugural Meeting of the North Carolina Surgery Simulation Collaborative
January 11, 2013 -- The January 5th meeting in Chapel Hill was attended by representatives from the six surgical programs in NC: Brody School of Medicine, Carolinas Healthcare System, Duke University, New Hanover Medical Center, University of North Carolina, and Wake Forest School of Medicine.
US News & World Report names Top Doctors
December 18, 2012 -- U.S. News & World Report, in collaboration with Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., released its 2012 list of the nation's top physicians.
Schultz awarded SUNA President's Trophy
December 14, 2012 -- Heather Schultz, a Nurse Practitioner in the Division of Urology, was awarded the Society of Urologic Nurses and Associates (SUNA) President's Trophy in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the specialty of urologic nursing.
The Best Doctors in America 2013
December 7, 2012 -- Congratulations to the following Department of Surgery physicians who are identified as being among the best in the nation, as compiled by the Boston-based Best Doctors, Inc.
Surgery appoints vice-chairs
December 6, 2012 -- Department of Surgery Chair Anthony A. Meyer, MD, PhD, has announced the appointment of four Department vice-chairs.
DeMore receives Murray F. Brennan Award for Sarcoma Research
December 4, 2012 -- Nancy DeMore, MD, FACS, Associate Professor of Surgery and member of the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, has been selected to receive the Murray F Brennan Award for sarcoma research from the Kristen Ann Karr Fund.