Site News

Neely Selected for St. Jude National Graduate Student Symposium
January 12, 2012 -- Crystal J. Neely, an Immunology and Microbiology graduate student working under the direction of Drs. Bruce Cairns and Rob Maile in the Burn Center Research Lab, has been chosen to attend the St. Jude National Graduate Student 2012 Symposium in Memphis, TN.
ACS NewsScope Highlights Rowland Performance Courses
December 2, 2011 -- The Dec. 2nd issue of NewsScope, the electronic weekly update from the American College of Surgeons, promoted Dr. Pamela Rowland's Oral Board Review courses scheduled for February and September of 2012. The full text of the article:
Ollila Promoted to Full Professor
December 1, 2011 -- Dr. David Ollila, in the Division of Surgical Oncology, has been promoted to Professor of Surgery effective December 1, 2011.
Rich Receives DOD Funding to Develop Plasma Substitute
November 17, 2011 - The Department of Defense has awarded Entegrion, of which Dr. Preston Rich is Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, $43.7 million to develop a plasma-derived drug that may someday be a substitute for fresh frozen plasma.
Sheldon Participates in Conference on GME Education Reform
November 18, 2011 -- Dr. Sheldon recently participated in a conference sponsored by the Josiah Macy Foundation, entitled "Ensuring an Effective Physician Workforce for the United States: Recommendations for Graduate Medical Education to Meet the Needs of the Public" that was held in Atlanta, Georgia earlier this year.
Kircher and Schultz Recognized for Nursing Excellence
November 15, 2011 -- Amanda Kircher, RN, and Heather Schultz, NP, were presented with the 2011 Nursing Recognition Award at today's semi-annual School of Medicine Medical Staff Meeting.
Wallen and Yeh Recieve Faculty Promotions
November 1, 2011 -- The Department of Surgery is pleased to announce the promotion of two faculty members.
Ollila Advocates for Melanoma Surgery Research
October 25, 2011 - Dr. David Ollila, associate professor of surgical oncology, was recently featured in The Lancet with an editorial discussing current and future melanoma surgery research.
Haithcock Gets Dual Appointments
October 21, 2011 -- Benjamin E. Haithcock, M.D., assistant professor in the UNC Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery, holds a joint appointment as assistant professor in the UNC Department of Anesthesiology as of Oct. 15, 2011.
UNC Professor Celebrates Aunt's Nobel Prize
October 10, 2011 -- Dr. Estrada Bernard, professor emeritus and Chief of UNC's Division of Neurosurgery from 1997 through 2004, shared news that his aunt, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, was among those awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for 2011.
Farrell Awarded Fellowship Grant
The Foundation for Surgical Fellowships has announced that Dr. Tim Farrell, Professor in Gastrointestinal Surgery, has qualified for a fellowship grant for the 2012-2013 academic year.
UNC Department of Surgery Welcomes New Attendings September 2011
September 20, 2011 -- The Department of Surgery would like to welcome the following new Attendings to our faculty:
Chancellor Presents Sheldon with Thomas Jefferson Award
September 16, 2011 -- George F. Sheldon, MD, is the 2011 recipient of the Thomas Jefferson Award.
Farrell Serves as Secretary/Treasurer in ACS NC Chapter
September 16, 2011 -- The North Carolina Chapter of the American College of Surgeons has posted the following article in the Sept. 16 issue of its electronic newsletter, E-News:
Lee Receives Grant to Study Reconstruction Decision-Making
September 15, 2011 -- Clara Lee, MD, Associate Professor of Plastic Surgery, has received a grant from the National Institutes of Health to study patients' decision-making process to undergo breast reconstruction surgery following mastectomy.
Two Surgery Clinics Among Top Five for Patient Satisfaction
September 15, 2011 -- The Burn Clinic and Surgical Oncology Minor Procedure Clinic were voted by patients as among the top five for the most recent quarter.
WRAL features Rupp-Led Sponge Study
September 8, 2011 -- Dr. Christopher Rupp, Assistant Professor in Gastrointestinal Surgery, was the principal investigator of a study featured on
Garrison and Reid Win Kaiser Award for Excellence in Teaching
August 24, 2011 - Doctors Aaron Garrison and Trista Reid have been awarded the 2011 Kaiser Permanent Excellence in Teaching Award.
Jones Accepted into NC TraCS Development Program
Dr. Samuel Jones, was recently accepted into the KL2 program run by the North Carolina Translational and Clinical Sciences Institute (NC TraCS).
Two from Surgery Included in "Great 100 Nurses" of NC
August 18, 2011 -- Of the five UNC Health Care nurses named to the list of North Carolina's "Great 100 Nurses" for 2011, two are affiliated with the Dept. of Surgery.