Site News

First Gentleman Eaves Visits Burn Center on 30th Anniversary
February 24, 2011 -- Mr. Bob Eaves, First Gentleman of North Carolina, visited the N.C. Jaycee Burn Center at UNC Hospitals yesterday to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the Burn Center, which opened Feb. 23, 1981.
New Consult Service for Severe Acute Pancreatitis
February 25, 2011 -- The Division of Gastrointestinal Surgery, in conjunction with the Divisions of Gastroenterology and Interventional Radiology, as well as the Medical Intensive Care Service, have established this consultation service with the goal of expediting and directing care for patients with acute pancreatitis and the complications that may develop from it.
Rowland Joins UNC Surgery
February 15, 2011 -- The Department of Surgery is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Pamela A. Rowland as the first Associate Chair of Education in the department.
Weiner Promoted to Full Professor
February 9, 2011 -- Dr. Tim Weiner, in the Division of Pediatric Surgery, has been promoted to Professor of Surgery effective February 9, 2011.
"America's Top Doctors" Includes Nine from Surgery
February 8, 2011 -- Castle Connolly has named "America's Top Doctors," which it bases on an annual survey and research. The 2011 list includes nine physicians on faculty with the Department of Surgery.
International Medical Outreach Program wins Medical Achievement Award
January 21, 2011 -- Program headed by Dr. Francis Robiscek, UNC Surgery affiliate at Carolinas Medical Center, wins an award for medical achievement in Central America.
Meyer Appointed to Family House Board of Directors
January 10, 2011 -- Anthony Meyer, MD, PhD, Chair of the Department of Surgery, has been appointed to the 2011 Board of Directors of UNC Hospitals SECU Family House.
Dreesen, Meyer and Stafford Participants on Geriatic Care Grant
January 6, 2011 -- The Donald W. Reynolds Foundation has awarded a $1.5 million grant for the development of a program on "Next Steps in Physicians' Training in Geriatrics." Principle investigator is Jan Busby-Whitehead, MD, Director of the UNC Center for Aging and Health in the Division of Geriatric Medicine.
van Aalst Featured in "Southern Neighbor"
January 3, 2011 -- The extraordinary volunteer efforts of UNC plastic surgeon, John van Aalst, MD, and local dentist, Bilal Saib, DDS, to treat pediatric cleft palate patients in the West Bank are featured in the current edition of "Southern Neighbor."
Pruthi Assumes Leadership of Urologic Surgery
January 3, 2011 -- Raj Pruthi, MD, has been appointed Chief of the Division of Urologic Surgery effective January 1, 2011.
Clancy Elected to SSA Membership
December 21, 2010 -- Dr. Tomas Clancy, general surgeon with the North Carolina Coastal AHEC, was elected to active membership with the Southern Surgical Association.
Farrell Elected to ACS Post
December 20, 2010 -- Timothy Farrell, MD, Associate Professor of Surgery, Division of Gastrointestinal Surgery, was elected to the office of Secretary Treasurer of the North Carolina Chapter of the American College of Surgeons (ACS).
Lung Transplant Gives CF Patient New Lease on Life
December 18, 2010 -- A double-lung transplant gives a 22-year-old cystic fibrosis patient a new lease on life. For the first time in his young life, Wesley Telsrow can sleep lying down rather than sitting up and laugh without coughing. Nirmal Veeramachaneni, MD, was his transplant surgeon.
Carson Recipient of AUA Award
December 15, 2010 -- Dr. Culley Carson was notified by the American Urological Association (AUA) Awards Committee that he was selected as a recipient of the 2010 Distinguished Contribution Award. This award is presented annually to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the science and the practice of urology, including but not limited to contributions made in a subspecialty area, for military career service or for humanitarian efforts.
Jones Featured on UNC Health Care's "Real Doctors, Real People"
December 8, 2010 -- Dr. Sam Jones, of the North Carolina Jaycee Burn Center, is featured on the December edition of the UNC Health Care news site.
Lung Transplant Patient Thankful for 2nd Chance
December 6, 2010 -- A double-lung transplant at UNC in March 2010 gave Mary Scercy of Lincoln County, N.C., woman a second chance at life, allowing her to witness the birth of her first granddaughter, attend her son’s wedding and to meet the lung donor’s family on Nov. 5 to thank them face-to-face for their selfless generosity.
The Best Doctors in America 2011-2012
December 2, 2010 -- Congratulations to the following Department of Surgery doctors who are identified as being among the best physicians in the nation, as compiled by the Boston-based Best Doctors, Inc.
Pruthi Named Chief of Urologic Surgery
December 2, 2010 -- Effective Jan. 1, 2011, Dr. Raj Pruthi will assume leadership of the Division of Urologic Surgery within the Department of Surgery. Current Chief Dr. Culley C. Carson III will continue to have an active role in the division, and retain his position as associate chair of the Department of Surgery.
Farrell Presented with H. Fleming Fuller Award
November 15, 2010 -- Timothy Farrell, MD, Associate Professor of Surgery, Division of Gastrointestinal Surgery, was awarded the prestigious H. Fleming Fuller Award at the 11/15/10 meeting of the UNC Health Care Board. The H. Fleming Fuller Award is intended as a permanent memorial to Kinston, N.C., physician H. Fleming Fuller, a founding member of the Board of Directors of the N.C. Memorial Hospital. In establishing the Fuller Award, the Board sought to recognize members of the medical staff who demonstrate the qualities embodied in Dr. Fuller's lifelong dedication to the highest standards of patient care, teaching and community service.
Dehmer Presents at 2010 AAMC
November 10, 2010 - Dr. Jeffrey Dehmer presented at the 2010 Annual Meeting of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), conducted in Washington, D.C., from November 5th through the 10th.