Welcome from the Program Director

BethJonasFriends and Future Colleagues,

As director of the UNC Rheumatology Fellowship Program, I think I have the best job in the world.  I get to help develop and manage a dynamic training environment that fosters outstanding medical care and professionalism.  In addition, I have a front row seat to witness – on a daily basis – the continued growth of the very talented individuals who enter our program.  It’s a true privilege to work with the brightest physicians as they fine tune their skills to become the leading rheumatologists of tomorrow.   

Over the past few decades we have been part of a revolution in the care of patients with rheumatic diseases.  Our understanding of the etiology and pathogenesis of these diseases is constantly growing, and with that our ability to harness this knowledge to advance therapeutics.  We have so many new tools in rheumatology – biologic therapies, imaging modalities, and diagnostic testing – that have made a world of difference for our patients.  But we have so much more work to do.  I think this is a very exciting time to become a rheumatologist.  

I believe that the most robust learning starts with a clinical problem, and rheumatology is no stranger to diagnostic dilemmas and clinical challenges.  Problem-based and experiential learning allows our fellows to actively draw upon past experiences and knowledge they've obtained in order to solve new problems.  Our program is flexible by design, to allow each individual trainee to meet his/her professional goals -- whether that is clinical rheumatology, research, clinical education, or some combination.  I encourage you to explore the breadth and depth of the training environment at UNC as you continue your educational journey.  


Beth L. Jonas, MD
Interim Chief, Division of Rheumatology, Allergy and Immunology
Professor of Medicine and Orthopaedics
Recipient of 2015 ACR “Distinguished Fellowship Program Director” Award



Interactive Discussions

Beth L. Jonas, MD:  Associate Professor & Director, UNC Rheumatology Fellowship Program 

Durga Adhikari, MD:  Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine

Rumey Ishizawar, MD, PhD:  Assistant Professor

Joanne Jordan, MD, MPH:  Joseph P. Archie, Jr. Emminent Professor of Medicine; Chief, Department of Rheumatology, Allergy & Immunology; Director, Thurston Arthritis Research Center 

Richard Loeser, MD:  Herman and Louise Smith Distinguished Professor

Amanda Nelson, MD, MSCR, RhMUS:  Assistant Professor One On One Dialog

Alfredo Rivadeneira, MD:  Associate Professor

Saira Sheikh, MD:  Assistant Professor

Elizabeth Shulman, MD:  Assistant Professor 

Christopher Sims, MD:  Adjunct Professor

Eveline Wu, MD:  Assistant Professor


Kelli Allen, PhD:  Research Professor of Medicine

Leigh Callahan, PhD:  Professor of Medicine, Departments of Social Medicine and Orthopedics

Yvonne Golightly, PT, PhD:  Research Assistant Professor of Epidemiology

Richard H. Gracely, PhD:  Professor, Endodontics, Center for Pain Research and Innovation

Peng Liu, MD, PhD:  Associate Professor of Medicine

Ned Sharpless, MD:  Professor or Medicine and Genetics

Jenny Ting, PhD:  William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor, Department of Genetics; Founding Director, Center for Translational Immunology 

Barbara J. Vilen, PhD:  Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology