The 15th Annual Floyd A. Fried Advances in Urology Symposium

The 15th Annual Floyd A. Fried Advances in Urology Symposium will be held June 23-24, 2017 at the Rizzo Conference Center in Chapel Hill. The symposium will highlight several new developments in the field of urology. We have assembled an exciting group of speakers who will present the most recent advances in urethral injuries, female urology, nephrolithiasis, pediatric urology, and urologic malignancies.

Keynote Speakers

Craig A. Peters, MD, FAAP, FACS

Craig A. Peters
Craig A. Peters, MD, FAAP, FACS
Craig Peters, MD, is the Chief, Pediatric Urology, Children's Health, Professor of Urology, University of Texas Southwestern in Dallas, TX. He received a BA and MD degree from the Johns Hopkins University, did his surgery and urology residency at the Johns Hopkins Hospital at the Brady Urological Institute, a Pediatric Urology Fellowship at Boston Children's Hospital and a research fellowship at Children's and Harvard. After joining the faculty of Children's Hospital and Harvard Medical School, he developed the pediatric urology laboratory and carried on research into basic development and pathophysiology of the fetal urinary tract. His research has been funded by NIH/NIDDK and focused on urinary obstruction, vesicoureteral reflux, and bladder dysfunction, as well as quantitative imaging and robotics. Dr. Peters has extensive experience with developing minimally invasive surgical techniques, including robot-assisted procedures and treatment of pediatric urologic problems. He has authored numerous papers and chapters on minimally invasive surgery in children and lectured internationally in this area.


J. Stuart Wolf, Jr., MD., F.A.C.S.

J. Stewart Wolf
J. Stewart Wolf, Jr., MD., F.A.C.S.

After receiving his M.D. from Northwestern University, Dr. Wolf completed urology residency at UCSF and then an Endourology / Laparoscopy Fellowship with Ralph Clayman. He joined the University of Michigan in 1996, and over the ensuing 20 years he served as the Director of the Division of Endourology, the Director of the Endourology / Laparoscopy Fellowship, and the Associate Urology Department Chair for Surgical Services. In 2016 he assumed his current role as Associate Chair for Clinical Integration and Operations, and Chief of the Division of Surgical Sub-Specialties, of the Department of Surgery and Perioperative Care at Dell Medical School of the University of Texas at Austin.

Dr. Wolf has served on the Executive Committee of the Michigan Urologic Society and the Board of Directors of the Endourological Society. He formerly chaired the AUA Practice Guidelines Committee, and is the inaugural chair of the AUA Science & Quality Council. At the University of Michigan, Dr. Wolf received