The 14th Annual Floyd A. Fried Advances in Urology Symposium


Keynote Speakers

Kathleen Kobashi, MD, FACS          

Kathleen Kobashi
Kathleen Kobashi, MD, FACS

Dr. Kathleen Kobashi is the Head, Section of Urology and Renal Transplantation at Virginia Mason Medical Center, Director of the Pelvic Floor Center, and Program Director of the Urology Residency Program.  She received her B.A. at Wellesley College in Wellesley, MA and her M.D. at Hahnemann University in Philadelphia, PA.  She completed her urologic residency at the University of California, Irvine, and then pursued a clinical fellowship in Pelvic Floor Medicine at Tower Urology Institute for Continence in Los Angeles, CA before joining Virginia Mason in 1999.

 Dr. Kobashi has authored more than 100 peer-reviewed articles and book chapters on issues related to the treatment of urinary incontinence and pelvic prolapse.  She has enjoyed being involved in clinical research and has had the privilege of presenting her work at various national and international meetings in fourteen countries outside of the U.S. as well as participating as chair, faculty and moderator of expert panels in similar forums. 

 Dr. Kobashi is a member of the Examination Committee of the American Board of Urology, Vice President of the Society for Urodynamics, Female Pelvic Medicine and Urogenital Reconstruction (SUFU), Past-president of Washington State Urologic Society (2008-10) and serves on the editorial boards for several journals, including Urology Practice and Journal of Clinical Urology.  She received the Continence Care Champion award from the National Association for Continence in 2006, the Paul Zimskind Award from SUFU in 2010 awarded to the urologist who has contributed the most to the field of Pelvic Floor Medicine within the first 10 years out of fellowship, and a Presidential Citation from the American Urological Association on May 8, 2013.

Larry I. Lipshultz, MD

Larry Lipschultz
Larry Lipschultz, MD

Larry I. Lipshultz, M.D., is Professor of Urology and Chief of the Scott Department of Urology’s Division of Male Reproductive Medicine and Surgery at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. Dr. Lipshultz, who holds the Smith Chair in Reproductive Medicine, is a well-known authority on abnormalities of male reproduction, erectile dysfunction, and male hormone therapy. He completed his medical training and urology residency at the University of Pennsylvania and was the first American Urological Association (AUA) research scholar. He is a member of the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons, a founder of the Society for the Study of Male Reproduction and the American Society of Andrology, and is the second urologist elected President of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM).
Dr. Lipshultz has been an active member of the AUA throughout his career. Among many other activities, he has served on the FDA Advisory Committee for Reproductive Health Drugs. In 2010 he was honored by the AUA as “one of the most respected surgeon scientists and mentors in Urology.” He received the ASRM Service Award in 2011, the AUA’s Hugh Hampton Young Award in 2005, and the F. Brantley Scott Award of Excellence in 2015. He has published more than 300 journal articles, serves on the editorial boards of several major journals, and has edited two widely used comprehensive text books. He is frequently invited to lecture in the U.S. and abroad, and he is listed routinely in Best Doctors in America and Castle Connolly’s America’s Top Doctors. Teacher as well as physician, researcher, writer, and editor, Dr. Lipshultz instituted a fellowship training program in male reproductive medicine and surgery that has trained more than 100 physicians who are now in practice both here and abroad.