2014 - 12th Annual Symposium

2014 - 12th Annual Floyd A. Fried Advances in Urology Symposium

The 12th Annual Floyd A. Fried Advances in Urology Symposium was held June 20-21, 2014 at the Rizzo Conference Center in Chapel Hill. The symposium highlighted several new developments in the field of urology. Subjects covered included the contemporary management of prostate cancer including novel imaging and molecular testing, the current standard of care for urothelial carcinoma of the bladder and ureter, and an overview of current management strategies for male infertility, overactive bladder, and ureteral reconstruction. The latest approaches to the management of advanced renal cell carcinoma were also outlined. Separate speakers discussed the ACA/ACO and the emergence of patient reported outcomes addressed how these important changes affect the way health care is delivered in the United States. In addition, the important topic of end of life care in the urologic patient was addressed.

Keynote Speaker

Patrick C. Walsh, MDPatrick C. Walsh, MD is best known for his pioneering work in the development of “the anatomic approach to radical prostatectomy”, which involves nerve-sparing techniques that have reduced the probability of impotence and incontinence, and for his 30 years as the Professor and Director of the Brady Urological Institute. 

Dr. Walsh has also made major contributions to the basic understanding of benign and malignant neoplasms of the prostate. Along with co-workers, he was the first to describe the 5 alpha-reductase enzyme deficiency, to develop an experimental technique for the induction of benign prostatic hyperplasia, to demonstrate the influence of reversible androgen deprivation on BPH, and to characterize hereditary prostatic cancer. 

Dr. Walsh is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. For 15 years he was on the Editorial Board of the New England Journal of Medicine and for 25 years was the editor-in-chief of Campbell’s Textbook of Urology, which has been renamed Campbell Walsh in his honor.  In 1996, Dr. Walsh received the Charles F. Kettering Medal from the General Motors Cancer  Research Foundation for “the most outstanding recent contributions to the diagnosis and treatment of cancer.” Dr. Walsh was honored as the 2007 National Physician of the Year for Clinical Excellence by America's Top Doctors®, and received the 2007 King Faisal International Prize in Medicine for his contributions to prostate cancer.  In 2012 he was awarded the Francis Amory Prize by the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. 

Together with Janet F. Worthington, he authored the best-selling books for lay people The Prostate: A Guide for Men and the Women Who Love Them, which is published by Johns Hopkins University Press (1995) and Warner Books (1997) and more recently, Dr. Patrick Walsh’s Guide to Surviving Prostate Cancer, Warner Books (2001), Warner Wellness (2007), Hachette Book Group (2012).  Dr. Walsh served as the president of both the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons and the Clinical Society of Genitourinary Surgeons.