New Department of Urology Proposed

The UNC School of Medicine is considering a proposed change to it's Constitution that will create a new Department of Urology.  The decision to establish this department is the result of extensive review and discussion by the leadership team and with the input and support of Tony Meyer, Chair of the Department of Surgery, and Raj Pruthi, current Division Chief of Urology (who would become the founding Chair of the new Department). The field of Urology is becoming increasingly specialized and has less academic, research or clinical overlap than in the past with the Department of Surgery. The Division of Urology has had substantial growth since 2009 from 7.5 faculty (5.5 MD and 2 mid-level providers) to 16 (12 MD and 4 advanced practice practitioners) in April 2013. The new department will aim to recruit new faculty members, expand the size of the clinical and research programs, achieve regional and national recognition and foster strengthened partnerships across campus and our region.

This proposed change was presented to the Dean's Advisory Committee on April 9. The proposed amendment to the School of Medicine Constitution will come to a faculty vote in May.  Two-thirds of the votes must be affirmative to enact this change.  If approved, the Department of Urology would become operational in FY 2014 pending approval by the Chancellor.