Automatic Locking and Unlocking

When you edit an item, the web system will automatically lock that item to prevent others from trying to make edits to it. This prevents people from overwriting each others' changes. Once you have finished editing an item and click the Save button, the item automatically becomes unlocked and is available to be edited by others.

locked.png

Manually Unlocking An Item

When an item has been locked, the system will display a message to anyone with edit capability that the item was locked, who locked it, and how long ago.  In the event that an item was accidentally locked or if the person who locked the item is gone, it is easy to unlock it and make it available for editing again. Simply click the unlock button that appears in the locked warning message.

Related content
Editing Content